Jump to content



Photo

Exit/Close 'Microsoft Security Essentials' for gaming


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 san.W10

san.W10

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 19-March 08

Posted 04 October 2009 - 12:33

How to exit/close MSE when gaming?

Is turning OFF "Real time Protection" MSE in enough?

Posted Image


#2 vetCalum

Calum

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 10-January 07

Posted 04 October 2009 - 12:52

Is there any reason you need to do so? It's a very silent program so you should have no problem with it popping up messages whilst you're gaming :)

#3 Steve B.

Steve B.

    Neowinian British One

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 12-January 09
  • Location: United Kingdom
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: HTC One S

Posted 04 October 2009 - 13:04

Yeah I see no significant differences between when it is on and off to be honest. Plus the fact any difference above 30fps is barely noticeable anyway.

#4 Ambroos

Ambroos

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 16-January 06
  • Location: Belgium

Posted 04 October 2009 - 13:05

Yes, that's the thing you have to turn off. Though, I don't see any reason why. You will NOT get any higher FPS, the only difference it might make is a split second faster loading, but turning off and on the realtime protection will probably take longer then what you gain by turning it off. Just leave it on all the time.

#5 SMELTN

SMELTN

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 23-July 05
  • Location: Alabama
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate, 2012 Macbook Pro, CR-48 Chromebook from Google
  • Phone: iPhone 5s

Posted 04 October 2009 - 15:40

agreed I leave mine on 100% of the time. No reason to turn it off, I notice no difference in gaming with it on or off

#6 UXGaurav

UXGaurav

    Tried Classic Shell? It has 15 million+ downloads & growing

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 18-October 05
  • Location: Windows
  • OS: Windows

Posted 04 October 2009 - 17:51

Not for performance reasons but it's nice to have an "Exit" option for AVs for many reasons I don't wish to go into here. Norton doesn't have it either. I know Kaspersky and NOD32 do. What about others? Avast, Avira, AVG, McAfee?

#7 Subject Delta

Subject Delta

    Father...it's me, Eleanor

  • Joined: 25-March 09
  • Location: Kent, England

Posted 04 October 2009 - 17:55

Don't think you can close the GUI, unless you kill it in task manager (msseces.exe) but you can stop the service (which uses most of the memory) by running "net stop MsMpSvc" in an elevated command prompt, when you want to restart it just put "net start MsMpSvc" into an elevated command prompt

#8 OP san.W10

san.W10

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 19-March 08

Posted 05 October 2009 - 00:56

Not for performance reasons but it's nice to have an "Exit" option for AVs for many reasons I don't wish to go into here. Norton doesn't have it either. I know Kaspersky and NOD32 do. What about others? Avast, Avira, AVG, McAfee?

yup. Norton 2009 doesnt have "Exit" option it, but atleast it has "Game Mode".

GUI stays in taskbar with red icon :D
had to turn off "Action Center" warning messages.

thanks for the instructions Frank.

btw, used Task Manager to stop "MsMpSvc" service under "Services" tab & then under "Processes" tab, "msseces.exe" -> "End Task".
(Disabled UAC)
Posted Image

No need to restart the service, just open MSE & it'll promt for "restarting" the service,

#9 OP san.W10

san.W10

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 19-March 08

Posted 05 October 2009 - 06:28

this :D

Posted Image

#10 svnO.o

svnO.o

    Programmer & Web Developer

  • Joined: 24-March 08
  • Location: Washington State

Posted 05 October 2009 - 07:58

Yeah I see no significant differences between when it is on and off to be honest. Plus the fact any difference above 30fps is barely noticeable anyway.


I dunno, I've always noticed quite a bit of difference between 30 and 60FPS. Same with the jump from 60 to 100FPS. At least in COD4 and CS 1.6 I notice quite a bit of difference (everything feels smoother/faster to me, and I would be able to differentiate between them if someone changed it).



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!