Jump to content



Photo

Disable Local Area Connection from Command line


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 acakuo

acakuo

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 22-November 09

Posted 22 November 2009 - 17:20

Hello Everyone,

I want to disable and enable my network connection using a script.
On my XP I had an icon that did a:
netshx Disable "Local Area Connection"
This still works on my new Windows 7 but now the UAC pops up when I run the icon.

When I disable/enable the network card from Device Manager the UAC don't pop up.


I've tried:
netsh interface set interface "Local Area Connection" DISABLE
But received this error:
An interface with this name is not registered with the router.

So, is there a command line to disable the network card without the UAC popping up?
Acakuo


#2 Chode

Chode

    Neowinian Misanthropist

  • Joined: 08-December 03

Posted 22 November 2009 - 23:24

It's been a while, but from memory "IPCONFIG /RELEASE" will cause it to lose it's IP address.

Though I suspect you more want something to turn the device off.

Have you tried running your script in compatability mode for either Vista or XP SP2?

#3 Madoshi

Madoshi

    Neofur

  • Joined: 20-October 09
  • Location: New York

Posted 22 November 2009 - 23:28

When I disable/enable the network card from Device Manager the UAC don't pop up.


i think that is because by running Device Manager, you are already elevated

#4 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 96
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 23 November 2009 - 14:07

netshx is not a windows builtin command -- its a script someone put together that uses devcon to control hardware

http://www.novell.co...nd-line-control

run your netshx command from an elevated command prompt.

You use to only be able to enable disable wireless, but from a elevated prompt this command works on 7 for wired interfaces.

Netsh interface set interface "Local Area Connection" enable
Netsh interface set interface "Local Area Connection" disable

Or whatever you have your interface called.

"An interface with this name is not registered with the router."

You get that error because you ran it from a non admin prompt. You need to run such a command from an elevated command prompt.

prompt.png

Edited by BudMan, 23 November 2009 - 14:16.


#5 OP acakuo

acakuo

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 22-November 09

Posted 23 November 2009 - 20:10

Thanks allot,

The netshx does work when I use the CMD as administrator. But I'm back with the UAC windows…

It looks like I will use the "IPCONFIG /RELEASE" and "/RENEW" this does the trick of disabling the network connection without the UAC popping up.
With this method I don’t get any visual icon to see that the net is disconnected, but it's seems to be the best that I can get on 7.

Acakuo

#6 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 96
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 23 November 2009 - 21:13

using the actual netsh command does not pop up a UAC prompt. and disables the interface.. Like I said netshx is not a command -- its a script that uses devcon.

#7 OP acakuo

acakuo

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 22-November 09

Posted 23 November 2009 - 21:41

using the actual netsh command does not pop up a UAC prompt. and disables the interface.. Like I said netshx is not a command -- its a script that uses devcon.


sorry I meant netsh in my replay...
How can you use the netsh with out the UAC prompt?

I've made a bat file with the line "Netsh interface set interface "Local Area Connection" disable" in it.
1. normal run will no nothing.
2. right click -> run as admin will pop the UAC and then disable the network.
3. the properties -> compatibility is grayed out, so i used This but still it does nothing.

What am i missing?

Acakuo

#8 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 96
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 23 November 2009 - 22:46

Like I said run from an admin prompt -- and you get no popup.

nopupup.png

You get the prompt when you you run the console as admin -- but once your in as admin running the command does not pop it up again.

So now your question is how to run a batch file as admin without a UAC prompt -- hmmmm, off the top of my head not sure how to do that - would have to look it up.. Not something you should be doing normally.

Here you go this should work for you

http://www.winhelpon...the-uac-prompt/
How to Run Programs Elevated Without Getting the UAC Prompt

#9 OP acakuo

acakuo

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 22-November 09

Posted 24 November 2009 - 17:04

+BudMAn you are the best! :yes:

This is gust what i was looking for.
Thanks allot.

Acakuo