Jump to content



Photo

Drive is already mapped error


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 notta

notta

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 20-April 05

Posted 03 December 2009 - 15:21

It's time I finally ask for help on a mapped drive issue that I'm constantly dealing with. Let's say that I remote into a customer's machine and go to start -> run and mistakenly unc to a network share that the currently logged on user doesn't have access to. Of course I get an access denied error. Now when I try to map the share and supply my credentials I receive an error that the drive is already mapped and you cannot use 2 different sets of credentials to access the same share. If I right click my computer for example and choose disconnect network drive, the mapped drive is obviously not listed. If I run 'net use' from the command prompt the share is not listed. We usually just log off and log back in, but that can be a problem if the user is away from the keyboard. Without logging off how can you clear that connection?

I know you guys are going to say well don't type the network share the first time that a user doesn't have access to. haha, it just happens some times. Any help would be appreciated.


#2 Joel

Joel

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 07-August 01

Posted 03 December 2009 - 17:27

Why would you need to map it if you've browsed to it by the UNC?

#3 OP notta

notta

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 20-April 05

Posted 03 December 2009 - 17:37

Let me try this again. Let's say I remote into a user's machine. I need a software installer that is on a share that the currently logged-on user does not have access to. Without thinking I go to start -> run and type the name of the share(i.e. \\server\share) where the installer is located. Because I'm trying to connect to the share as the user I receive an access denied error. At this point I'm saying damn I did it again. I then right click on my computer and choose map network drive. I type the name of the path and supply my credentials because I have access to the share. At that point I receive the cannot map the drive because the share is already mapped and you cannot connect to the same share with 2 different accounts on the same machine. The 2 accounts are the currently logged-on user, even though he failed connection and my account.

My question is without having to reboot the machine how can I clear the connections so I can map the share with my credentials? I can't get rid of that failed first connection.

#4 Joel

Joel

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 07-August 01

Posted 03 December 2009 - 17:41

And I'll ask again; when you browsed to the network share and were presented with a login box to authenticate your connection, why not enter the details and stay in the open share? What's the reason for mapping it?

#5 OP notta

notta

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 20-April 05

Posted 03 December 2009 - 17:45

That's just it. When I type the UNC into the run dialog \\server\share as the user I don't get a prompt to enter the credentials but instead I receive an access denied error. I receive that error because the user is logged into the domain with his domain account. If the user was logged in with a local account then he would get prompted for his credentials.

#6 Sophism

Sophism

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 05-December 03
  • Location: Greenbelt, MD

Posted 03 December 2009 - 17:52

Are you trying to authenticate to this share using credentials other than what the user is logged in as?

If this is the case, is the user mapped to any other shares on the same server?

#7 bmdixon

bmdixon

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 13-November 05
  • Location: Birmingham, UK
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 03 December 2009 - 17:55

I think that it's because you can't connect to the same server with different credentials. If you had mapped \\server1\share and then tried to access \\server1\anothershare it wouldn't let you. If you try to get to \\server2\share it will because you haven't already connected to that server.

Not sure if there is a way round this though... i have the same problem and usually end logging them off and logging in as myself.

#8 OP notta

notta

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 20-April 05

Posted 03 December 2009 - 18:04

Are you trying to authenticate to this share using credentials other than what the user is logged in as?


Nope. I just open the run dialog and type \\server\share. The user does not have access to that share.


If this is the case, is the user mapped to any other shares on the same server?


No, the user is not mapped to any other share on that server. I understand exactly why it's happening, but I don't know how to clear the connection. I just talked to our server team and they said that it's a bug with Microsoft and that they have been dealing with it for years.

I think that it's because you can't connect to the same server with different credentials. If you had mapped \\server1\share and then tried to access \\server1\anothershare it wouldn't let you. If you try to get to \\server2\share it will because you haven't already connected to that server.


I completely understand that, but I was hoping someone knew how to clear the connection so I didn't have to log off. I see though that you're in the same boat as I am.

#9 Hell-In-A-Handbasket

Hell-In-A-Handbasket

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 30-September 03
  • OS: Win 8.1 Pro, iOS7, OSX 10.7, Ubuntu/WinXP system Died the Good Death

Posted 03 December 2009 - 18:05

did you try clicking on tools, map network drive, and remove it from there ?

to reshow the credential window i think you can remove it int he User account<Manage windows passwords or something like that ( its in the white box sidepane )

*Edit* can also try
To disconnect a mapped drive:
Click Start, and then click Run.
In the Open box, type cmd.
Type net use x: /delete, where x: is the drive letter of the shared resource.

#10 OP notta

notta

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 20-April 05

Posted 03 December 2009 - 18:18

Yep. I tried both ways. That's exactly the problem. The connection is not listed anywhere so I can't kill it and I need to log off. If I choose disconnect network drive it's not listed and if I type 'net use' to display my connections it's not listed either.

#11 Joel

Joel

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 07-August 01

Posted 03 December 2009 - 18:34

I receive that error because the user is logged into the domain with his domain account. If the user was logged in with a local account then he would get prompted for his credentials.

Not at all accurate. I have users logged into the domain here, and when I try to access a share they have no rights to, I receive a login box for new credentials. I'm not saying you're not having that problem, but it's not because they're logged in to the domain. Maybe something in the way your shares are handled (shares inside shares, etc.) is causing this.

added this: I have seen what you're describing, but I can't remember the exact reason. I can see it almost; it feels like it's because you're navigating to a share they're already in, but not the same folder. Let's attack this from another side; what are you accessing, a location they need to write to, or just read from?

#12 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 86
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 04 December 2009 - 21:21

Ok -- its been quite a while since I have had to deal with anything like this -- but If I recall correctly, the problem is due to cached tickets.. I would assume your using kerberos and not NTLM

I would have to do some testing to refresh my memory on this stuff.. But if I recall you can use use klist to purge the tickets vs having to log off and back on.

If I recall correctly -- once you attempt to access a share you do not have permission to, that will be cached even though you did not get access. Now you can not connect to a resource as more than one user at a time, so that would explain the mapped drive error about 2 different accounts.

So you need to clear that ticket - you can do that by logging off, or with klist you can view all your tickets, and purge them, etc.

klist is part of the 2k3 resource kit you can get here
http://www.microsoft...;displayLang=en

When I get a chance I will do some testing -- its been quite some time since I have run into this issue, I don't normally work on user machines any more with them logged in, etc. But I do recall this happening -- and yeah the old standby is to just log off..