Jump to content



Photo

  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 AndyD

AndyD

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 02-November 01
  • Location: NYC

Posted 04 January 2010 - 23:08

So for whatever reason the image that is stored in the hidden permission in a Dell that I bought no longer works. Not a big deal but what I wanted to know is if it's possible to access that partition and replace it with another image. I like the idea of having a hidden partition with an image I can use to quickly restore my system. If I can't, not a problem but curious if I can do it


#2 +allan

allan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-February 04
  • Location: New Jersey, USA

Posted 04 January 2010 - 23:14

Just use an imaging utility (on a regular basis). The images can be on a separate drive, cd, dvd, usb - whatever. But to directly answer your question - no.

#3 ShamRocker1

ShamRocker1

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 12-December 09

Posted 04 January 2010 - 23:17

That would be the diagnostics partition. You can get rid of it and run the diags from the CD that came with your PC but you'll have to repartition the HDD.

#4 OP AndyD

AndyD

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 02-November 01
  • Location: NYC

Posted 05 January 2010 - 12:59

Ok thanks guys

#5 Sunny D.H. Ashton

Sunny D.H. Ashton

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 05-January 10

Posted 05 January 2010 - 14:11

also Dell, the same issue, ends up there's no way to work out... but instead searched for some backup utilities, then came up with this awesome freebie Easeus todo backup, LOL support Win 7 and it;s totally free! worth keep in the pocket
http://www.todo-backup.com/

#6 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 89
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 05 January 2010 - 18:42

So for whatever reason the image that is stored in the hidden permission in a Dell that I bought no longer works.

you might want to take a look here about repairing the recovery partition/feature

http://www.goodells....store/fixes.htm
This page discusses how to fix the Dell System Restore (DSR) feature.

edit:
If you want to create your own there are quite a few guides out there on how to do it with a wim file (imagex tool free from MS). Plus others on how to do it with other imaging taking software. But if just dealing windows boxes imagex is free and pretty straight forward in its use.

I just used imagex to create a image of a machine I was working on for a client, so that I could give them the image in a format they could open up without too much issues.. You can actually just pull out the imagex tools and then on another computer you can mount these images to any folder (I have the tool on my win7 box for example).

here as just as example -- on my win7 box I just mounted a wim file I had created

imagex.jpg

The ability to mount and manipulate images directly is a big plus (and the cost) over some other imaging software out there.

Edited by BudMan, 05 January 2010 - 19:01.


#7 OP AndyD

AndyD

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 02-November 01
  • Location: NYC

Posted 06 January 2010 - 15:57

Thanks man. I'll definitely give that a look. Last time I used Acronis I f'd up things pretty good so wouldn't mind trying something else. But can't use it in a hidden partition right?

I actually switched out the Dell drive but I may put it back if I sell the PC so those instructions should be helpful too

#8 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 89
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 06 January 2010 - 16:18

Can't use what in a hidden partition? Storing your recovery image? Sure why not -- a hidden partition is not really hidden, just partition type, etc.

And Im pretty sure that link on how to fix dell recovery will allow you to put it on a disk - even if a new disk, etc.

#9 OP AndyD

AndyD

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 02-November 01
  • Location: NYC

Posted 07 January 2010 - 04:32

Ok I'll have a look but it's more of not wanting to deal with having to switch out drives again to get it working again :) A project for another day

As for the hidden partition - yeah to store it there. I guess I'm not sure how I would access it. Maybe booting into Linux Live?

#10 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 89
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 07 January 2010 - 04:53

Um no.. Its just "hidden" from windows, does not mean you can not access it.. And if you were going all out in the restore you would set it up so your keystroke invoked the recovery process, etc..

Let me check my kids laptops to see if I left the dell recovery partitions around?? Ok my one son's box still has it on it.. He left for school so fast did not have to time to clean up the box the way I normally do (home for xmas break)

dellpart.png

I can mount that to any folder, or drive letter and view its contents.. Hidden does not mean unacceptable ;)

Hey look at that -- I just mounted the recovery partition to the R: drive - and guess what its a wim file, and there is the imagex exe

imagex.png

#11 OP AndyD

AndyD

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 02-November 01
  • Location: NYC

Posted 07 January 2010 - 05:20

Ah great thanks! I'll have to give that a look then. Much appreciated

#12 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 89
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 07 January 2010 - 05:25

From off the top of my head I bet you could just replace that Factory.wim file with your image on a dell and be good to go without whatever setup you would like..

When I have more time and they are home for summer I will prob have to give that a test run ;)

#13 yxz

yxz

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 11-January 09

Posted 07 January 2010 - 05:41

reasons to use imagex over dism?

#14 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 89
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 07 January 2010 - 05:53

Um they are different tools -- you can not take the image with dism or apply it to the disk. Sure dism can mount images and such. and do lots of other kewl things with the specific image.. But it can not take an image or deploy it -- for that you use imagex

So yes dism is a great tool for working with wim files, etc.. But not really where the thread was headed.. but sure you could prob use it to manipulate the dell factory wim file???

#15 OP AndyD

AndyD

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 02-November 01
  • Location: NYC

Posted 11 January 2010 - 00:33

From off the top of my head I bet you could just replace that Factory.wim file with your image on a dell and be good to go without whatever setup you would like..

When I have more time and they are home for summer I will prob have to give that a test run ;)


Yeah, for now I'm holding off till I have more time to investigate. Appreciate all the help. I will look into the imagex soon though