Jump to content



Photo

Changing your IP address so it looks like you're from another state


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 NotSoSmartGuy

NotSoSmartGuy

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 11-July 07

Posted 16 February 2010 - 00:42

I have an IP address from San Diego California. When you look up the IP address it does say San Diego California. I do not want this. I am going to connect to someone and i DO NOT want them to be able to look at my IP address (which they will be able to do) and see that it is from San Diego.

I want that it reads from another state. Was wondering how you would do this.


#2 fhpuqrgrpgvirzhpujbj

fhpuqrgrpgvirzhpujbj

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 18-February 08

Posted 16 February 2010 - 00:45

I have an IP address from San Diego California. When you look up the IP address it does say San Diego California. I do not want this. I am going to connect to someone and i DO NOT want them to be able to look at my IP address (which they will be able to do) and see that it is from San Diego.

I want that it reads from another state. Was wondering how you would do this.

Use a proxy, theres a huge list at http://www.proxy.org (this will only work if its a browser thing)

#3 xendrome

xendrome

    In God We Trust; All Others We Monitor

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 05-December 01
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 16 February 2010 - 00:45

I have an IP address from San Diego California. When you look up the IP address it does say San Diego California. I do not want this. I am going to connect to someone and i DO NOT want them to be able to look at my IP address (which they will be able to do) and see that it is from San Diego.

I want that it reads from another state. Was wondering how you would do this.


Move to another state, and get Internet Service in that state..

#4 JoeyF

JoeyF

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 28-January 08
  • Location: Earth

Posted 16 February 2010 - 00:54

Move to another state, and get Internet Service in that state..


+1

Seriously, there's only about 1.3 million people in San Deigo, and about 37 million people in California. It's not like any one could really track you down simply by knowing which city you live in. Especially one of that size.

#5 bluewind.

bluewind.

    the realness I'm faking

  • Joined: 28-September 05
  • Location: Pittsburgh, PA

Posted 16 February 2010 - 00:58

I'll gladly trade states.

#6 Growled

Growled

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 17-December 08
  • Location: USA

Posted 16 February 2010 - 01:52

Use a proxy, theres a huge list at http://www.proxy.org (this will only work if its a browser thing)

+1 That's what I would use.

#7 splur

splur

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 10-October 05
  • Location: Canada

Posted 16 February 2010 - 02:47

Posted Image

#8 david

david

    Senior Neowinian

  • Joined: 10-June 02
  • Location: Dallas Texas
  • OS: Windows 8.1; Android 4.3; iOS 7
  • Phone: Nexus 4

Posted 16 February 2010 - 06:15

Posted Image

My thoughts exactly!

#9 a1ien

a1ien

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 24-March 09

Posted 16 February 2010 - 06:20

Successfully setting up and browsing with a proxy can be difficult.

What you want is accomplished easily using Tor: http://www.torprojec...ownload.html.en

I suggest the "Tor Browser Bundle for Windows" - it does not require setup. Just make sure you pass it through your router and windows firewalls.

#10 carmatic

carmatic

    oh cool i can change my member title

  • Joined: 03-July 04

Posted 16 February 2010 - 06:48

you give everyone from San Diego, California a bad name :(

#11 Draconian Guppy

Draconian Guppy

    LippyZillaD Council

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 22-August 04
  • Location: Neowin

Posted 16 February 2010 - 06:52

Use Torr.

#12 jk911rules

jk911rules

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-February 10

Posted 16 February 2010 - 07:24

The easiest way is to get some fresh proxies from the Internet and set it to your web browser and use it. or else use a web based proxy.

#13 +BudMan

BudMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 86
  • Joined: 04-July 02
  • Location: Schaumburg, IL
  • OS: Win7, Vista, 2k3, 2k8, XP, Linux, FreeBSD, OSX, etc. etc.

Posted 16 February 2010 - 16:08

Maybe Im missing something here - but I don't see where the OP stated he was going to be using a http to connect. If not web proxy might not work, nor does using tor mean that all traffic goes through the tor connection.

http://www.torprojec...html.en#Warning
Tor only protects Internet applications that are configured to send their traffic through Tor — it doesn't magically anonymize all your traffic just because you install it.

So what application is the poster using to connect?

I just don't see any legit reason for this in the first place.. So what if they know your coming from SD area?

#14 Roger H.

Roger H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 20
  • Joined: 18-August 01
  • Location: Germany
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 21 February 2010 - 18:00

I saw this post originally but didn't reply then. I was thinking he's trying to connect to a clients machine or something but didn't want a far away IP address to show up. It's almost like the thing where salemen get local numbers from different areas and forward them to 1 phone since not everyone has long distance (i guess, lol ) and if you're in NY and see some 407 (FL) number on this guys business card, you might not be interested (for whatever reason).

So to change IP address from another state, you can't really as it's leased to you via your ISP. Sometimes WIFI Hotspots have IP ranges from Indiana or something so even if you are in FL it'll show like you are in Indiana. I am at Starbucks now using Wayport (AT&T bought them). I am in CT but it shows i'm in Kansas! LOL.

#15 kaffra

kaffra

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 13-December 01
  • Location: Deutschland

Posted 22 February 2010 - 00:07

Maybe hotspot shield can be configured to do what you want.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!