Jump to content



Photo

[Bootcamp] Windows 7 Sound not working on iMac


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Glassed Silver

Glassed Silver

    ☆♡Neowin's portion of Crazy♡☆

  • Joined: 10-June 04
  • Location: MY CATFORT in Kassel, Germany
  • OS: OS X ML; W7; Elementary; Android 4
  • Phone: iPhone 5 64GB Black (6.0.2)

Posted 28 March 2010 - 03:00

Hello guys!

I've had the driver installed before, so don't say it won't work, but at the moment my sound is not working in win 7 on my iMac 2006 (late).
This is a 32bit system. A driver is installed but for example not the control panel by realtek and so on.

Quite funnily, the sound is just mute. Don't hear anything neither with the built-in speakers nor the external ones.

Help is appreciated, thanks in advance! :)

Glassed Silver:win


#2 +Audien

Audien

    Software Eng.

  • Joined: 30-December 03
  • Location: Seattle, WA
  • OS: Windows 8.1/Mac OSX
  • Phone: iPhone 5S

Posted 28 March 2010 - 04:47

So the driver is installed but it doesn't show up in the Sound control panel as an output?

#3 OP Glassed Silver

Glassed Silver

    ☆♡Neowin's portion of Crazy♡☆

  • Joined: 10-June 04
  • Location: MY CATFORT in Kassel, Germany
  • OS: OS X ML; W7; Elementary; Android 4
  • Phone: iPhone 5 64GB Black (6.0.2)

Posted 28 March 2010 - 04:59

No, everything is as it should be, just two things:

-I get no sound. (Volume Meter by Windows however works, meaning playing an mp3 will give me the dancing green line in the volume mixer)
-The 3rd party Control Panel by Realtek is not there (where you set up 3d sound and funny presets like real-time "hallway" sound effects and all that)

Glassed Silver:win

#4 atkin

atkin

    Resident One Post Wonder

  • Joined: 30-March 10

Posted 30 March 2010 - 03:52

I manage a computer lab of 50 iMacs from ~2007 era and all of them have this same issue with Windows 7. Vista didn't have the problem.


No, everything is as it should be, just two things:

-I get no sound. (Volume Meter by Windows however works, meaning playing an mp3 will give me the dancing green line in the volume mixer)
-The 3rd party Control Panel by Realtek is not there (where you set up 3d sound and funny presets like real-time "hallway" sound effects and all that)

Glassed Silver:win



#5 Raa

Raa

    Resident something-or-rather

  • Tech Issues Solved: 2
  • Joined: 03-April 02
  • Location: NSW, Australia

Posted 30 March 2010 - 04:06

The sound driver is incorrect. It is NOT a Realtek card.

You need to install the Sigmatel driver, that is the correct one for your model. The one from the OSX CD (Vista driver) works perfectly in my 1st Gen Intel iMac.

#6 illegaloperation

illegaloperation

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 24-October 09

Posted 30 March 2010 - 04:09

Download the High Definition Audio Codecs directly from Realtek. The one from Boot Camp does not work.
http://www.realtek.com/downloads/

#7 sean494

sean494

    Resident One Post Wonder

  • Joined: 13-September 13

Posted 13 September 2013 - 02:45

Hi there,

 

 

I have a late 2006 iMac (ma710ll/a), and I've been trying to find audio drivers that will work with my Windows 7 64-bit partition. I went to numerous forums only to hear people reference various drivers (none of them worked, including the one in this forum.) I noticed earlier that someone mentioned sigmatel drivers, but provided no link or idea of where to find them. Below are the drivers that worked for my iMac; I provided the 32 bit and 64 bit intallers for the iSight cam as well. The Sigmatel driver package should work on 32 and 64 bit computers:

 

Sigmatel Audio Drivers:

 

    http://www.4shared.c...maTelSetup.html

 

iSight webcam Drivers:

 

    http://www.4shared.c...nstaller64.html

    http://www.4shared.c...tInstaller.html





Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!