Jump to content



Photo

Linux Mint 9


  • Please log in to reply
82 replies to this topic

#76 keysteele

keysteele

    Neowinian

  • 276 posts
  • Joined: 16-March 09
  • Location: Toronto
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: BB Z30 on 10.3.1

Posted 20 May 2010 - 02:56

Can someone tell why the "taskbar" whatever its called in Linux doesn't go transparent when i set it to? I should be seeing the green of the background not gray.

Attached Images

  • Screenshot-1.png



#77 Negi

Negi

    Neowinian

  • 199 posts
  • Joined: 27-April 10

Posted 20 May 2010 - 05:59

Can someone tell why the "taskbar" whatever its called in Linux doesn't go transparent when i set it to? I should be seeing the green of the background not gray.

It's called a "panel". Right-click on an empty area on it, "Properties", "Background" tab, select "Solid colour", and drag the slider to adjust transparency.

The opacity you're setting in your screenshot is for desktop cube effects instead.

#78 ViperAFK

ViperAFK

    Neowinian Senior

  • 10,873 posts
  • Joined: 07-March 06
  • Location: Vermont

Posted 20 May 2010 - 14:56

It's called a "panel". Right-click on an empty area on it, "Properties", "Background" tab, select "Solid colour", and drag the slider to adjust transparency.

The opacity you're setting in your screenshot is for desktop cube effects instead.

I think he's already done that, the problem is 90% of themes dont respect it and only part of the panel goes transparent, even if you try and use a different panel bg image.

#79 Syanide

Syanide

    From here to infirmary.

  • 4,230 posts
  • Joined: 05-February 03
  • Location: /home

Posted 20 May 2010 - 16:37

To fix that annoying panel behavior, edit:

/usr/share/themes/themename/gtk-2.0/panel.rc file, usally commenting or removing "bg_pixmap[NORMAL] = filename.png" will allow you to manually choose the color/transparency or a custom image background for the entire panel.

or

/usr/share/themes/themename/gtkrc and look for panel and similar syntax to the previous one and just comment on it or delete the line to allow normal behaviour.

#80 ViperAFK

ViperAFK

    Neowinian Senior

  • 10,873 posts
  • Joined: 07-March 06
  • Location: Vermont

Posted 21 May 2010 - 01:08

To fix that annoying panel behavior, edit:

/usr/share/themes/themename/gtk-2.0/panel.rc file, usally commenting or removing "bg_pixmap[NORMAL] = filename.png" will allow you to manually choose the color/transparency or a custom image background for the entire panel.

or

/usr/share/themes/themename/gtkrc and look for panel and similar syntax to the previous one and just comment on it or delete the line to allow normal behaviour.

On some themes even that doesnt work. :/

#81 TDT

TDT

    Hey yo!

  • 1,296 posts
  • Joined: 17-March 10
  • Location: Bucharest, Romania

Posted 24 May 2010 - 13:01

@TDT: Try SMPlayer.


Thank you, works fine and it's very nice. I do hate the subtitles, the same font used in Win and in Mint looks very different, it's pretty ugly in smplayer. But oh well... :)

I installed KDE eventually, but deleted it after one hour of usage. I rather stick with Gnome, had lots of weird issues on KDE, like being unable to "move" the damn taskbar from my second monitor on the first one (it believes that my TV is the primary monitor and in kde there's no way to change that, at least not that I know of).

Now, I have two small issues that I need help with. I'm using Pidgin (what else?) as my IM app and:
1. I can't find a plugin that can make the offline users show up in italic, like YM. I found one, blistop or something like that, but doesn't work;
2. Where on Earth do you find themes for this app?! Posted Image Or icons, or sound themese, for that matter...

Thanks. :)

#82 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • 22,258 posts
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 24 May 2010 - 14:06

Edit: Sorry Growled I quoted the wrong person! :blush: Anyway for the person who had wired connection issues!

Try this:

Code: Select all:


Then check the output to see that your Ethernet interface is working! If it is, check to see that the interface is picking up an IP address from the DHCP:

To check if it has worked, open a terminal and type:

Code: Select all


It should show you the interface, the IP Address assigned to it and that it is up.

If there is no IP Address assigned to the interface, open a terminal and type:

Code: Select all


This should force the machine to request an IP Address from the DHCP server.

Short of this working then I don't know what to suggest!



For the record, no it doesn't work, it refuses to grab an ip adress, and even when it's set manually it's not on the network. So somethign is definately wrong with the networking in Mint, something that isn't wrong on Ubuntu.

#83 HawkMan

HawkMan

    Neowinian Senior

  • 22,258 posts
  • Joined: 31-August 04
  • Location: Norway
  • Phone: Noka Lumia 1020

Posted 24 May 2010 - 15:37

So according to the mint forums, it's not an uncommon problem, and also happens, with older versions of mint.

interestingly, after mint broke it. wired networking doesn't work in ubuntu either. I think it's got something to do with the network/connection manager. though I don't see how it affects another live OS, but whatever. Of course with a broken network, you can't get another connection manager either.

and no, networkign works fine in windows. So basically it's all effed up. not sure I feel like bothering with it anymore.