[iOS 4] Enable Unsupported Features on iPhone 3G/iPod touch 2G

IMG_0001.png

Multitasking, home screen wallpaper, and battery percentage are all features in iOS 4 that won't be on the iPhone 3G, and the iPod Touch 2G. BUT, a simple tweak will allow all of these to run on said devices. Instructions after the jump.

AT THIS MOMENT, only the iPhone 3G (and 3GS via PwnageTool) can be jailbroken. Follow our guide here on jailbreaking the iPhone 3G running iOS 4. The iPod Touch 2G isn't jailbroken [yet].

PLEASE NOTE that this guide is NOT for absolute newbies. You're expected to know what a plist file is and what's usually in them. Baby questions will be ignored.

Once jailbroken, install iFile in Cydia. Open iFile, and navigate to /System/Library/CoreServices/SpringBoard.app/, and open N82AP.plist. Add multitasking, homescreen-wallpaper, gas-gauge-battery, and set them to true. Save it, and restart your device (you can also respring if you have SysInfoPlus installed, as "Respring" doesn't work properly, and neither does SBSettings).

Multitasking can be accessed by double-clicking the Home button. The home screen wallpaper is already active. To enable the battery percentage, open Settings>General>Usage, and turn Battery Percentage on.

Source: Gumball Tech

I knew this would happen shortly after the GM was released, but didn't think it would be so soon.

I've tried this on my iPhone 3G but I used PhoneView to access the file system instead of iFile on Cydia. Multitasking on the 3G is err, interesting. Think I might disable it after I've had a play. One annoying thing is that apps seem to multitask by default whether you want them to or not. :unsure:

LOL I still have an iPhone 2G... will we be able to get this working on there? if it works on 3G it should, i'm sure they are almost the same spec?