Jump to content



Photo

Computer Boots up With Low Resolution


  • Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 firedavid

firedavid

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 03-June 10

Posted 11 June 2010 - 04:12

my computer resolution is set to 1280 x 1024 which is the recommend resolution for my computer. when ever i boot up my computer the resolution is changed to 800 x 600 and i would have to right click on the desktop and go to the nvidia control panel and then it will automatically turn into the right resolution again.

os; win7
cpu; amd phenom ii
mainboard; msi k9a2 platinum
gfx card; nvidia geforce 9800 gtx+

any suggestions?

------------------------------------------

another question that i might know the issue to but i would ask anyways. i have an amd phenom ii but whenever i click on computer properties, it does not show my processor model but instead it says "processor uknown"

Posted Image

i believe it's because my bios haven't been updated since i built it, the bios version is from 2007. suggestion?


#2 Berserk87

Berserk87

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 14-June 05
  • Location: BC, Canada

Posted 11 June 2010 - 04:13

is it booting into safe mode?

#3 OP firedavid

firedavid

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 03-June 10

Posted 11 June 2010 - 04:27

no it is not.

#4 nub

nub

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 19-November 06
  • Location: Amerika

Posted 11 June 2010 - 04:30

No idea about the resolution, but I also had the unknown model thing. Bios update fixed it.

#5 Billus

Billus

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 11-August 09
  • Location: Brisbane, Australia

Posted 11 June 2010 - 04:36

Bios update and re-install the graphics driver.

#6 OP firedavid

firedavid

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 03-June 10

Posted 11 June 2010 - 04:41

i'm gonna try and reintall drivers now.

#7 freeman1912

freeman1912

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 29-May 10
  • Location: Malta

Posted 11 June 2010 - 04:42

I had once that problem. Not to alert you but check your hard disk SMART values. it can be that your hard disk is has bad sectors on it.

#8 farmeunit

farmeunit

    The other white meat.

  • Tech Issues Solved: 3
  • Joined: 05-May 03
  • Location: Branson, MO USA

Posted 11 June 2010 - 04:42

I would say BIOS update and do you have the newest NVidia drivers installed for that card?

#9 The Dark Knight

The Dark Knight

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 06-June 04
  • OS: Windows 8 Pro x64
  • Phone: Nexus 4

Posted 11 June 2010 - 04:51

I had once that problem. Not to alert you but check your hard disk SMART values. it can be that your hard disk is has bad sectors on it.


Just out of curiosity, how would that affect resolution changes on boot?

#10 freeman1912

freeman1912

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 29-May 10
  • Location: Malta

Posted 11 June 2010 - 04:58

Just out of curiosity, how would that affect resolution changes on boot?

I dunno but i suppose corrupted files or something like that. I had a Maxtor Hard disk 40GB. Installed Windows 7. I noticed that the health of the hard disk is about 25 percent and when booting up the resolution was always chancing from 1024 by 768 to 800 by 600.

#11 OP firedavid

firedavid

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 03-June 10

Posted 11 June 2010 - 05:15

installed latest drivers, issue is fixed. thanks for the replies guys