Jump to content



Photo

Why is Firefox using so much memory?


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 TemperingPick

TemperingPick

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 12-April 10
  • Location: North Carolina

Posted 13 August 2010 - 14:55

Firefox was using 1.6GB of RAM with only 5 tabs open and none of them were Flash. What's up with that? I know Firefox had some memory problems but I didn't know it was that bad.


#2 +M2Ys4U

M2Ys4U

    Your friendly neighbourhood Pirate!

  • Joined: 02-June 04
  • Location: England, UK, Europe

Posted 13 August 2010 - 14:56

Almost certainly down to your extensions and addons

#3 c3ntury

c3ntury

    Say whaa?

  • Joined: 24-December 09
  • Location: irc.neowin.net

Posted 13 August 2010 - 14:58

Its your addons causing a memory leak. It could be flash, but that is unlikely.

#4 OP TemperingPick

TemperingPick

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 12-April 10
  • Location: North Carolina

Posted 13 August 2010 - 15:13

I didn't have an extensions. It was a clean install of Firefox.

#5 Yakuzing

Yakuzing

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 28-December 03
  • Location: Denmark

Posted 14 August 2010 - 13:33

You should maybe bring some facts to the table like the OS and specs of your computer. Also the version of Firefox.

#6 Phenom II

Phenom II

    Neowin Junkie

  • Joined: 19-October 06
  • Location: , Location, Location

Posted 14 August 2010 - 13:43

Download and install the Memory Fox plugin / RAM Back plugin



https://addons.mozil...ox/addon/53880/

https://addons.mozil...fox/addon/5972/


Mem Leak plugin

https://addons.mozil...ox/addon/11922/

#7 OP TemperingPick

TemperingPick

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 12-April 10
  • Location: North Carolina

Posted 14 August 2010 - 13:44

Okay.

Windows 7 Pro 64bit

Intel Core 2 Duo T6400 @ 2.00Ghz
4GB of RAM
NVIDIA GeForce 9300M GS 512MB

Firefox 3.6.8 (I think, it's whatever you can download on the official site)

#8 xendrome

xendrome

    In God We Trust; All Others We Monitor

  • Tech Issues Solved: 9
  • Joined: 05-December 01
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64

Posted 14 August 2010 - 13:46

Okay.

Windows 7 Pro 64bit

Intel Core 2 Duo T6400 @ 2.00Ghz
4GB of RAM
NVIDIA GeForce 9300M GS 512MB

Firefox 3.6.8 (I think, it's whatever you can download on the official site)



Are we talking about the firefox.exe memory process, or are you looking at the Used Memory for the Operating System?

#9 OP TemperingPick

TemperingPick

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 12-April 10
  • Location: North Carolina

Posted 14 August 2010 - 13:49

Firefox.exe

#10 Phenom II

Phenom II

    Neowin Junkie

  • Joined: 19-October 06
  • Location: , Location, Location

Posted 14 August 2010 - 13:56

Firefox.exe


Use the plugins I posted - Its a well known fact that FF uses a ridiculous amount of ram, thats why people made the plugins !

#11 OP TemperingPick

TemperingPick

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 12-April 10
  • Location: North Carolina

Posted 14 August 2010 - 13:59

Use the plugins I posted - Its a well known fact that FF uses a ridiculous amount of ram, thats why people made the plugins !


I have to wait till I get home.

#12 Phenom II

Phenom II

    Neowin Junkie

  • Joined: 19-October 06
  • Location: , Location, Location

Posted 14 August 2010 - 14:03

I use the memory fox one on my laptop and it dropped the RAM useage from over 300Mb normal use, maybe 6-7 tabs open, to well under 60Mb if not less

#13 soldier1st

soldier1st

    Software Tester/Tech/Linux Lover

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 21-December 03
  • Location: Guess Where
  • OS: Windows 7,Android,Linux Mint
  • Phone: HTC Incredible S

Posted 15 August 2010 - 10:44

there is an easier way to fix this though it takes getting used to so here is the addon https://addons.mozil...ox/addon/67651/ it is called Bartab.

#14 iwod

iwod

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 16-January 02

Posted 16 August 2010 - 08:07

Firefox 4 uses the least amount of memory out of all the next gen browsers. In some cases JS or Webpage causes some memory leaks. You may want to test some other webpage.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!