Jump to content



Photo

Speckie v1.0.0 - Spell Check for IE


  • Please log in to reply
248 replies to this topic

#1 mauro

mauro

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 08-September 04

Posted 05 January 2011 - 03:25

I'm the developer of Speckie, an addon for IE that adds inline spell checking like that found in other web browsers. As far as I know, it's the only inline spell checking solution available for IE.

Website link


#2 liju

liju

    CyberSurfeR

  • Joined: 04-December 09
  • Location: Kerala, India

Posted 29 January 2011 - 21:59

Finally good to see an inline spell checker for IE but Speckie is crashing the tab when entering text in textboxes for me in IE9 v9.0.8073.6003.

From event viewer:

Log Name: Application
Source: Application Error
Date: 30-01-2011 02:51:46 AM
Event ID: 1000
Task Category: (100)
Level: Error
Keywords: Classic
User: N/A
Computer: Liju-PC
Description:
Faulting application name: iexplore.exe, version: 9.0.8073.6003, time stamp: 0x4d26cccb
Faulting module name: Speckie.dll, version: 1.0.0.100, time stamp: 0x4bee62db
Exception code: 0xc0000005
Fault offset: 0x000073b0
Faulting process id: 0x1508
Faulting application start time: 0x01cbbffa5ee74b4e
Faulting application path: C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe
Faulting module path: C:\Program Files\Speckie\Speckie.dll
Report Id: c6236b27-2bed-11e0-9058-0019d11018e5
Event Xml:
<Event xmlns="http://schemas.micro.../events/event">
<System>
<Provider Name="Application Error" />
<EventID Qualifiers="0">1000</EventID>
<Level>2</Level>
<Task>100</Task>
<Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
<TimeCreated SystemTime="2011-01-29T21:21:46.000000000Z" />
<EventRecordID>46317</EventRecordID>
<Channel>Application</Channel>
<Computer>Liju-PC</Computer>
<Security />
</System>
<EventData>
<Data>iexplore.exe</Data>
<Data>9.0.8073.6003</Data>
<Data>4d26cccb</Data>
<Data>Speckie.dll</Data>
<Data>1.0.0.100</Data>
<Data>4bee62db</Data>
<Data>c0000005</Data>
<Data>000073b0</Data>
<Data>1508</Data>
<Data>01cbbffa5ee74b4e</Data>
<Data>C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe</Data>
<Data>C:\Program Files\Speckie\Speckie.dll</Data>
<Data>c6236b27-2bed-11e0-9058-0019d11018e5</Data>
</EventData>
</Event>

#3 +Xinok

Xinok

    Resident Reresident

  • Joined: 28-May 04
  • Location: Shikaka
  • OS: Windows 7 x64
  • Phone: Galaxy S3 (Wicked)

Posted 29 January 2011 - 22:42

I tested it in IE8 on XP. It works pretty well overall.

Two problems I found:
  • It doesn't capture all misspelt words if I type too fast
  • If something refreshes or updates the page, the underlined misspelt words might disappear.
For the second problem, I was encountering this on Google Translate. Every time it updated the translated text, this would happen.

#4 OP mauro

mauro

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 08-September 04

Posted 01 February 2011 - 22:52

IE 9 is not currently supported, once the RC is out I'll look to add support.

Xinok, I'll look in to that refreshing issue. I'm not too sure about the typing too fast, I'm a key pecker so I don't know if I'd be able to reproduce that one.

#5 OP mauro

mauro

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 08-September 04

Posted 07 February 2011 - 07:14

I've released v1.2.0.200 which addresses the reported issues here and improves stability overall, so definitely upgrade if you use Speckie. Note that IE9 remains unsupported (still waiting for the RC) but I've made it not crash if you install Speckie regardless.

#6 +Xinok

Xinok

    Resident Reresident

  • Joined: 28-May 04
  • Location: Shikaka
  • OS: Windows 7 x64
  • Phone: Galaxy S3 (Wicked)

Posted 07 February 2011 - 22:49

I tried it out for a few minutes and I didn't encounter any problems.

#7 OP mauro

mauro

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 08-September 04

Posted 18 February 2011 - 21:36

I've released an update which is now compatible with IE9 RC, let me know if you experience any issues.

#8 +Xinok

Xinok

    Resident Reresident

  • Joined: 28-May 04
  • Location: Shikaka
  • OS: Windows 7 x64
  • Phone: Galaxy S3 (Wicked)

Posted 18 February 2011 - 23:21

Tested in IE9 RC. I'm experiencing some of the same problems that I did in the original version with the page updating. I'm also having problems with it working in multiple tabs (it only works in the second tab, not the first).

Screenshot 000.png

Screenshot 001.png

#9 ChuckFinley

ChuckFinley

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 14-May 03

Posted 18 February 2011 - 23:23

Brilliant JUST what I was looking for!

#10 OP mauro

mauro

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 08-September 04

Posted 19 February 2011 - 00:11

Xinok, my apologies. I've released another version which should resolve the issues you experienced. That Google Translate page is by far the most testing for this kind of addon :laugh:

#11 +Xinok

Xinok

    Resident Reresident

  • Joined: 28-May 04
  • Location: Shikaka
  • OS: Windows 7 x64
  • Phone: Galaxy S3 (Wicked)

Posted 19 February 2011 - 00:27

There's only one minor issue I can find: After installing Speckie and enabling the addon, I have to restart IE for it to work. That might be a problem for new users who might think it doesn't work at all.

Otherwise, it seems to be working fine now. Although I don't use IE as my primary browser, it's still nice to have a spell checker for it. So thanks for writing this addon. :)

#12 OP mauro

mauro

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 08-September 04

Posted 19 February 2011 - 00:41

There's only one minor issue I can find: After installing Speckie and enabling the addon, I have to restart IE for it to work. That might be a problem for new users who might think it doesn't work at all.

Yup, this is how IE works unfortunately, I don't know of a way to force it to load :unsure:

#13 liju

liju

    CyberSurfeR

  • Joined: 04-December 09
  • Location: Kerala, India

Posted 20 February 2011 - 04:46

Only the US dictionary works for me. Downloaded and run the British English dictionary and the sdintall said it installed but nothing happened and it didn't appear in the list to choose. Checked C:\Program Files\Speckie\Dicts, only the US dict files were there. So I extracted the en-GB version with Winrar and manually copied it to Dicts folder and now I have the GB dict option in the choose menu but can't select it so I deleted the US dict files, restarted IE. Now GB-dict is selected in the choose menu but it doesn't seem to be working as it is not flagging mistakes, only the US dict works for me. Could you please look into it?

#14 OP mauro

mauro

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 08-September 04

Posted 20 February 2011 - 06:10

liju, could you please provide more details like which version of Windows and IE you're using ?

#15 liju

liju

    CyberSurfeR

  • Joined: 04-December 09
  • Location: Kerala, India

Posted 20 February 2011 - 06:18

liju, could you please provide more details like which version of Windows and IE you're using ?

I'm on Windows 7 32 bit using IE9 RC.



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!