Jump to content



Photo

Getting Frustrated with my Sprint htc Hero


  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1 Tech Star

Tech Star

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 24-November 04
  • Location: California, USA

Posted 21 January 2011 - 10:26

I have a Sprint htc Hero and its starting to get very unbearable to use it. I am running the Sprint released version of Android 2.1 (rooted) and it is just SO laggy. I try to to open my texts that I have with a person and it takes about 10-30 seconds just so I can see/read the messages. When I try to send a message or type something, the keyboard lags so much that it does not detect some of the letters that I have pressed on the screen. Things also take a while for them to open/load just so I can use it. Is there a way I can fix this? Do you think that if I went to stock Android it would be better?

I am considering just buying a Palm Pre to hold me over until the next generation of Android phones/WP7/iPhone 5 comes out because this is just not working for me.


#2 InterceptorX

InterceptorX

    When my .50 cals clappin, bandits dirt nappin'

  • Joined: 02-August 08
  • Location: Chicagoland, IL
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 21 January 2011 - 10:27

I would try re flashing it first.

#3 fixxxer2014

fixxxer2014

    A1 poster

  • Joined: 26-February 06
  • Location: midwest

Posted 21 January 2011 - 10:31

go to xda hero section and download/install cm6 for the hero. i have no clue why you are still even running a 2.1 rom? also consider installing a custom kernel that is pre-overclocked to at least 720mhz. you will notice a difference.

i also had several hero's before going to the evo, maybe look into that as well. another phone i would recommend is the LG optimus S for sprint.

if you do get a palm pre i recommend the uber kernel running at 1ghz. you will notice a huge speed increase and zero lag when using it.

#4 cybertimber2008

cybertimber2008

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 02-December 08

Posted 21 January 2011 - 12:28

LauncherPro helped my speed a lot. SenseUI takes up a LOT of memory. Helped my keyboard issues, but didn't make it seamless.

If that doesn't help, reflashing the stock rom and clearing everything out will help. Re-rooting is easy enough.
If you are willing to install another rom, I'm going to recommend against CyanogenMod. It's a good rom yes, but aospMod is stock android, and built for speed. Thanks to RomManager and Nandroid though, it's easy enough to test a rom, and switch to another, or even back to stock.

#5 OP Tech Star

Tech Star

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 24-November 04
  • Location: California, USA

Posted 25 January 2011 - 22:38

I just flashed my phone to aospCMod Gingerbread 2.3. It seems better, but its all stock now. :/ Got to change a bunch of things and see if its still laggy.

#6 intrinity1

intrinity1

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 04-October 05
  • Location: Cali

Posted 25 January 2011 - 22:49

I finally broke down and couldn't take my Hero anymore. I got the Evo so hopefully that will serve it's purpose. I just can't believe they would release a phone that functions like that. It was seriously unusable for me at times. I would get calls and couldn't answer because the thing was so slow to answer a call. Good luck with the new rom.

#7 Anibal P

Anibal P

    Neowinian

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 11-June 02
  • Location: Waterbury CT
  • OS: Win 8.1
  • Phone: Android

Posted 25 January 2011 - 22:54

I finally broke down and couldn't take my Hero anymore. I got the Evo so hopefully that will serve it's purpose. I just can't believe they would release a phone that functions like that. It was seriously unusable for me at times. I would get calls and couldn't answer because the thing was so slow to answer a call. Good luck with the new rom.


The first few generations of Android phones were very weak phones, they're OK as long as we don't try too much with them, good thing the latest generations are great devices that blow away the competition.

#8 Subject Delta

Subject Delta

    Father...it's me, Eleanor

  • Joined: 25-March 09
  • Location: Kent, England

Posted 26 January 2011 - 01:29

I just flashed my phone to aospCMod Gingerbread 2.3. It seems better, but its all stock now. :/ Got to change a bunch of things and see if its still laggy.


That's not such a bad thing. Sense UI for Android should never have been made to run on a phone with 256 MB of ram IMO

#9 OP Tech Star

Tech Star

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 24-November 04
  • Location: California, USA

Posted 26 January 2011 - 03:20

Yeah I was so close to just buying a Pre off of CL for $60 to hold me over until the iPhone 5 or a WP7 phone.

Any tips on making stock Android look good? So far I put on Launcher Pro, and Beautiful Widgets. HTC Sense made Android look really good compared to stock.

#10 Subject Delta

Subject Delta

    Father...it's me, Eleanor

  • Joined: 25-March 09
  • Location: Kent, England

Posted 26 January 2011 - 14:26

Best thing to do is look on the XDA devs HTC Hero forums for themes

#11 FrankSpin

FrankSpin

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 01-June 10

Posted 26 January 2011 - 19:08

I have an Eris and I feel your pain. I thought this thing was the top of the world when I got it a year ago but it's just becoming too annoying to use sometimes. Typing gets really laggy at points regardless of what keyboard I use. CM helped a lot with performance but I would need to run the thing bare bones (no widgets, lockscreen mods, etc) to keep it running 100% smoothly. Only thing I can is thank god for the kernel development on the Eris or else this would be way more annoying to use.

OH and the incredibly small amount of internal storage. For the record I did use the move-to-sd feature in Froyo but it caused issues with some of my apps: icons would disappear, timing out, crashes, etc.

#12 OP Tech Star

Tech Star

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 24-November 04
  • Location: California, USA

Posted 26 January 2011 - 22:35

2.3 is not helping. It's still laggy and my camcorder does not work. Going to try 2.2.

If 2.2 does not work, what do you guys think about getting a palm pre for 60 dollars?

#13 Subject Delta

Subject Delta

    Father...it's me, Eleanor

  • Joined: 25-March 09
  • Location: Kent, England

Posted 27 January 2011 - 22:00

2.3 is not helping. It's still laggy and my camcorder does not work. Going to try 2.2.

If 2.2 does not work, what do you guys think about getting a palm pre for 60 dollars?


Have you tried getting an OC kernel?. I would also recommend getting a ROM with the Just in time compiler disabled if you are going to be running 2.2 or 2.3, the extra memory consumption that just in time compilation causes will hit the hero pretty hard.

#14 OP Tech Star

Tech Star

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 24-November 04
  • Location: California, USA

Posted 27 January 2011 - 22:06

Have you tried getting an OC kernel?. I would also recommend getting a ROM with the Just in time compiler disabled if you are going to be running 2.2 or 2.3, the extra memory consumption that just in time compilation causes will hit the hero pretty hard.


No I have not used OC Kernel? Will it help?

#15 Davo

Davo

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 15-September 06

Posted 27 January 2011 - 22:21

I also have a Sprint Hero and I use LiquidSense 2.1 stable rom. It's seriously what I'd recommend to anyone that still uses the Hero. It comes with the overclock kernel already built in so that you can get up to 768 MHz. My battery lasts a pretty long time too even if I leave the display on with full brightness, using Wifi, GPS, and tether. I'd suggest using LauncherPro instead of HTC Sense too and then just removing it with Titanium Backup so that it doesn't still run in the background. The dialer in LiquidSense also still is integrated with Sprint. Every other rom requires you to flash back to stock to use the dialer codes. I also use the Gingerbread keyboard (search for: gingerbread apk eclair on Google) and it snaps right up.

Don't get hung up on it not being Froyo. Alot of the non-stock roms are missing key features like camera, GPS, and have service issues from time to time.