Jump to content



Photo

Getting Frustrated with my Sprint htc Hero


  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#16 Subject Delta

Subject Delta

    Father...it's me, Eleanor

  • Joined: 25-March 09
  • Location: Kent, England

Posted 27 January 2011 - 22:28

No I have not used OC Kernel? Will it help?


Definitely, extra speed, and OC kernels are usually undervolted as well, which should help battery life. (you'll need SetCPU, you can grab it here)


#17 OP Tech Star

Tech Star

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 24-November 04
  • Location: California, USA

Posted 27 January 2011 - 22:42

So I am on 2.3 right now and my camcorder is not working and there is significant lag. Should I go to 2.2 of AOSP or to LiquidSense 2.1 like Davo said and then upgrade the kernel to OC kernel?

#18 Subject Delta

Subject Delta

    Father...it's me, Eleanor

  • Joined: 25-March 09
  • Location: Kent, England

Posted 27 January 2011 - 22:45

So I am on 2.3 right now and my camcorder is not working and there is significant lag. Should I go to 2.2 of AOSP or to LiquidSense 2.1 like Davo said and then upgrade the kernel to OC kernel?


Yes. Because 2.3 has not been released for many devices, my guess is that the driver for your camera is not included, and the same may even apply to the GPU which may be the cause of the lag.

Personally I would go with the 2.1 ROM, and install a UVOC kernel

#19 shakey

shakey

    It's soooooo Educational

  • Joined: 31-March 04
  • Location: Austin, Tx

Posted 27 January 2011 - 22:47

I also have a Sprint Hero and I use LiquidSense 2.1 stable rom. It's seriously what I'd recommend to anyone that still uses the Hero. It comes with the overclock kernel already built in so that you can get up to 768 MHz. My battery lasts a pretty long time too even if I leave the display on with full brightness, using Wifi, GPS, and tether. I'd suggest using LauncherPro instead of HTC Sense too and then just removing it with Titanium Backup so that it doesn't still run in the background. The dialer in LiquidSense also still is integrated with Sprint. Every other rom requires you to flash back to stock to use the dialer codes. I also use the Gingerbread keyboard (search for: gingerbread apk eclair on Google) and it snaps right up.

Don't get hung up on it not being Froyo. Alot of the non-stock roms are missing key features like camera, GPS, and have service issues from time to time.



hey man, can you instruct me on how to do this exactly with my sprint hero? It has all the updates, so I read that I would have to flash back to a older version before I tried anything... has that changed?

#20 Subject Delta

Subject Delta

    Father...it's me, Eleanor

  • Joined: 25-March 09
  • Location: Kent, England

Posted 27 January 2011 - 22:51

hey man, can you instruct me on how to do this exactly with my sprint hero? It has all the updates, so I read that I would have to flash back to a older version before I tried anything... has that changed?


2.1 is the latest version for the hero, it was never upgraded beyond 2.1

If you have an official ROM, you'll simply have to root the phone, perform a wipe, then install your custom ROM. (word of warning, backup all of your application data if you need to. SD card data will not be wiped, but you will loose all the data stored in your apps)

Instructions on rooting are here:

http://android.modac...ide-to-rooting/

ROMs, kernels, themes ETC you can find here:

http://forum.xda-dev...splay.php?f=508

#21 shakey

shakey

    It's soooooo Educational

  • Joined: 31-March 04
  • Location: Austin, Tx

Posted 27 January 2011 - 22:52

2.1 is the latest version for the hero, it was never upgraded beyond 2.1

If you have an official ROM, you'll simply have to root the phone, perform a wipe, then install your custom ROM.

Instructions on rooting are here:

http://android.modac...ide-to-rooting/

ROMs, kernels, themes ETC you can find here:

http://forum.xda-dev...splay.php?f=508


Well, I read somewhere that not too long ago, Sprint released a update to the software that wouldn't allow rooting, and that if you had accepted this update, which I had, you would need to flash back to a older version of Sprints software before you could root.

#22 Davo

Davo

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 15-September 06

Posted 27 January 2011 - 23:12

From what I understand, LiquidSense is UVOC which is why my battery life is pretty great.

Well, I read somewhere that not too long ago, Sprint released a update to the software that wouldn't allow rooting, and that if you had accepted this update, which I had, you would need to flash back to a older version of Sprints software before you could root.


There's a tutorial to flash back to the rootable firmware. http://forum.xda-dev...ad.php?t=694572



Click here to login or here to register to remove this ad, it's free!