Jump to content



Photo

Android update


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 stephenm17

stephenm17

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 26-March 10
  • Location: seaham

Posted 28 January 2011 - 10:07

I haven't had an update for my t-mobile pulse since i got it two years ago and I am wondering if I should think about getting a different phone when my contract ends. My parents both got new phones about a year ago and they have already had update and theres are the HTC ones. Their phones version was 2.0 and they already got the update for 2.1.


#2 Nick H.

Nick H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 15
  • Joined: 28-June 04
  • Location: Switzerland

Posted 28 January 2011 - 10:11

I learnt this very quickly with my phone: don't wait for your provider to release the updates. Root your phone and download a custom ROM. They tend to come with the benefits of the Android updates, plus some other nifty things.

I was waiting for 2.2 while I was on 2.1, then news came out that 2.3 was being released. I was then 2 versions behind. I decided to use a custom ROM and I've never looked back.

#3 OP stephenm17

stephenm17

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 26-March 10
  • Location: seaham

Posted 28 January 2011 - 10:13

How do you do that.

#4 OP stephenm17

stephenm17

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 26-March 10
  • Location: seaham

Posted 28 January 2011 - 11:01

how do you use a custom ROM.

my android version is 1.5 and need an update for it.

#5 Sulphy

Sulphy

    Sulphurious

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 17-November 09
  • Location: Northampton
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Android - HTC ONE M8

Posted 28 January 2011 - 11:02

goto XDA Developers

and find your phone... the instructions are very easy to follow :)

#6 thommcg

thommcg

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 23-November 09

Posted 28 January 2011 - 11:04

Try Google "Pulse root" or similar, e.g.
http://android.modac...-android-v-2-1/
http://www.stealthco...e-pulse-huawei/

#7 OP stephenm17

stephenm17

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 26-March 10
  • Location: seaham

Posted 28 January 2011 - 11:04

ok

#8 Teebor

Teebor

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 12-January 10

Posted 28 January 2011 - 11:14

http://forum.xda-developers.com/

Probably the best place to start

#9 OP stephenm17

stephenm17

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 26-March 10
  • Location: seaham

Posted 28 January 2011 - 11:18

thanks its is now doing the upgrade

#10 OP stephenm17

stephenm17

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 26-March 10
  • Location: seaham

Posted 28 January 2011 - 13:27

my phone now won't work

#11 +techbeck

techbeck

    It's not that I am lazy, it's that I just don't care

  • Tech Issues Solved: 11
  • Joined: 20-January 05

Posted 28 January 2011 - 14:09

my phone now won't work



No offense, but you dont sound like the person that should of been messing a round with rooting your phone. You dont seem to know to much about it and a screw up could render your phone useless as it may have now. I am not familiar with the pulse and the methods of rooting it, so not sure if you can unbrick it or not.

T-Mobile is good with phone replacements. Call them up, tell them your phone just stopped working and wont turn on. DO NOT tell them you tried to root it or else they will not replace the phone. I dropped my phone in water and was not covered under regular replacement. I just told them it stopped working, waited for the phone to dry a little, and sent it back. I got a replacement phone no questions asked.

I would also see if you qualify for a replacement phone but would wait until more 4g phones are released. Should be more on TMO soon like the Vibrant 4g or the dual core Vibrant. Of course the G2 is a solid phone as well.

#12 Jason S.

Jason S.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 5
  • Joined: 01-September 03
  • Location: Cleveland, Ohio

Posted 28 January 2011 - 14:35

yeah OP, i think you dove right into the deep end. sounds like you didnt do your homework before you attempted the root. :pinch:

#13 Nick H.

Nick H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 15
  • Joined: 28-June 04
  • Location: Switzerland

Posted 28 January 2011 - 14:40

Hang on, what do you mean it won't work?

When I first tried rooting my phone I had a problem where it wouldn't receive phone calls anymore. However, I could turn my phone on and get access to the menu.

If this is similar to your problem (i.e. you can turn it on and get to the menu) then try restoring your phone to the factory defaults. I did that and got the functionality back.

If I'd seen this thread where you asked how to do it, I would have warned you that it isn't necessarily a simple process. Many times it works without a problem, sometimes it doesn't. But as I've been told (and found out first-hand) just because it messes up doesn't mean that all is lost straight away.

#14 iamawesomewicked

iamawesomewicked

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 01-September 09

Posted 28 January 2011 - 14:43

Hang on, what do you mean it won't work?

When I first tried rooting my phone I had a problem where it wouldn't receive phone calls anymore. However, I could turn my phone on and get access to the menu.

If this is similar to your problem (i.e. you can turn it on and get to the menu) then try restoring your phone to the factory defaults. I did that and got the functionality back.

If I'd seen this thread where you asked how to do it, I would have warned you that it isn't necessarily a simple process. Many times it works without a problem, sometimes it doesn't. But as I've been told (and found out first-hand) just because it messes up doesn't mean that all is lost straight away.


You probably require a custom radio file for that phone specifically.

#15 Nick H.

Nick H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 15
  • Joined: 28-June 04
  • Location: Switzerland

Posted 28 January 2011 - 14:49

You probably require a custom radio file for that phone specifically.

But rooting the phone by default doesn't touch the radio files. It grants the user access to the system (the root). And installing CFW doesn't necessarily muck about with the phones radio files (after all, they should be fine in the first place), it installs other items.

I could be wrong though, my experience in this matter went as far as "screwing up" my phone, then getting it to work again by doing a factory reset. Then I tried again and it worked. :laugh: