Jump to content



Photo

  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 figgy

figgy

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 05-September 03
  • Location: Portland, OR, USA

Posted 29 January 2011 - 20:17

HTML5 Extension for Windows Media Player Firefox Add-on leaks memory like a sieve.
My memory usage jumps over to 1.5G over a period of two days when I have this addon enabled.

After I disabled the addon my firefox memory usage has dropped to average around 200MB.

Anyone else notice this?


#2 Co_Co

Co_Co

    g status

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 26-July 04
  • Location: Toronto, Canada

Posted 29 January 2011 - 20:32

you leave firefox open for 2days straight?

#3 soldier1st

soldier1st

    Software Tester/Tech/Linux Lover

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 21-December 03
  • Location: Guess Where
  • OS: Windows 7,Android,Linux Mint
  • Phone: HTC Incredible S

Posted 29 January 2011 - 21:14

i leave Firefox open for days even weeks and it does not grow that big but then i limit what extensions/plugins it uses. also why are you using that plugin? is there any need for it? i would think not.

#4 Technitrox

Technitrox

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 01-March 09

Posted 29 January 2011 - 21:26

Had the same problem with HTML 5 Extension, so i uninstalled it. I am happy with Webm and Theora.

Microsoft is responsible for this fault and not Mozilla.

#5 illegaloperation

illegaloperation

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 24-October 09

Posted 29 January 2011 - 21:36

also why are you using that plugin? is there any need for it?

That plug-in enable H.264 in Firefox.

#6 OP figgy

figgy

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 05-September 03
  • Location: Portland, OR, USA

Posted 30 January 2011 - 18:52

Yeah I leave I never close the browser unless I need to restart the system.
So it may be open for several weeks.

#7 Frylock86

Frylock86

    Stargate won't die!

  • Joined: 22-June 09
  • Location: ::1

Posted 30 January 2011 - 19:11

I haven't had much luck with the addon myself, so I disabled it for the time being.

#8 Boo Berry

Boo Berry

    Neowinian Ghost

  • Tech Issues Solved: 6
  • Joined: 26-March 05
  • Location: United States
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit Mac OS X Yosemite 10.10.1 Ubuntu 14.10 64-bit

Posted 30 January 2011 - 19:13

Yeah, had the same issue. It'd actually jump to using over 3GB of RAM before I killed it.

#9 ajua

ajua

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 12-February 07
  • Location: Mexico

Posted 30 January 2011 - 19:41

Yeah I leave I never close the browser unless I need to restart the system.
So it may be open for several weeks.

Firefox always will start to eat RAM like a madman when opened for several hours or days, even without a tab open, just hanging there.

4.0 Beta 8 through 10 (that's when I jumped to v4) don't seem to be doing this.

You should close the browser when its not needed. The cold start is feeling is better.
Its sad, but the developers don't seem to give this the priority it deserves.

#10 max22

max22

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 19-September 10

Posted 30 January 2011 - 21:33

Firefox always will start to eat RAM like a madman when opened for several hours or days, even without a tab open, just hanging there.

4.0 Beta 8 through 10 (that's when I jumped to v4) don't seem to be doing this.

You should close the browser when its not needed. The cold start is feeling is better.
Its sad, but the developers don't seem to give this the priority it deserves.


Why? I should be able to keep any browser open 24/7 for as long as I want. I don't get it ? Why can't I keep Firefox, Opera, Chrome, IE, Safari, etc open for days, weeks, or months ? I never shutdown my pc.

#11 bjoswald

bjoswald

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 14-January 08
  • Location: Florida
  • OS: Windows 7 Home Premium
  • Phone: HTC Aria

Posted 01 February 2011 - 16:47

I rarely shut down my PC but I always close the browser when I'm not using it.

Reason #1: Security
Reason #2: Habit
Reason #3: Energy/resources

#12 fhpuqrgrpgvirzhpujbj

fhpuqrgrpgvirzhpujbj

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 18-February 08

Posted 01 February 2011 - 16:52

I rarely shut down my PC but I always close the browser when I'm not using it.

Reason #1: Security

Winkey+L

Reason #3: Energy/resources

Holding x programs in RAM doesn't take any more energy then holding x-1 does.

#13 max22

max22

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 19-September 10

Posted 01 February 2011 - 19:17

I rarely shut down my PC but I always close the browser when I'm not using it.

Reason #1: Security
Reason #2: Habit
Reason #3: Energy/resources


Hmm I don't see any of those being a problem. Sometime is fishy around here if everyone closes their browser after using it all the time. You shouldn't have to do it period.

#14 ThaCrip

ThaCrip

    Neowinian Senior

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-November 04
  • Location: USA

Posted 03 February 2011 - 21:09

am i the only one who notices the FORUMS over at http://www.themortalkombat.com/ eat up more and more and more RAM everytime you refresh the page? (like load up a random topic in the forums and just hit the F5 key, let it load, hit F5 key again, if you keep doing that it can jump up RAM use quite quickly when most sites are fine.)

it does this in Stable v3.6 Firefox and the Firefox 4 BETA's.

#15 Boeing 787

Boeing 787

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 23-October 01
  • Location: Earth

Posted 03 February 2011 - 21:16

I've had the same problem. Had to restart Firefox every few hours. I guess I will disable the plugin.