Jump to content



Photo

Meet Firefox Next

firefox

3808 replies to this topic

#61 Xtreme $niper

Xtreme $niper

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 16-July 04
  • Location: Canada

Posted 14 April 2011 - 14:56

I love how Firefox claims to be "native" on OS X but in reality there is a lot about Firefox that isn't. It's certainly not a Cocoa application, for starters... And they didn't even put half a lick of effort into the UI design for version 4 compared to how different the Windows version now looks.

That said, the browser has still grown on me and I'm happy that progress (of any kind) was made from 3.6. The downside now is that I have to use gfxCardStatus to lock my GPU so it doesn't kick into discrete graphics all the time when I'm on battery. But I'm even becoming accustomed to making that part of my daily process anyway.


#62 Udedenkz

Udedenkz

    /人◕ ‿‿ ◕人\

  • Joined: 28-October 07
  • Location: Internet

Posted 14 April 2011 - 14:59

Any idea when Firefox will catch up in image handling to the competition.
~ 500MB RAM after 3 pages of [NSFW] Forums about to reach... thread

#63 AnotherITguy

AnotherITguy

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 15-October 10
  • Location: 'Merica
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Professional
  • Phone: Iphone 5C 16GB

Posted 14 April 2011 - 15:02

What they ought to do is slim down the fox a bit, and maybe embed Flash in it the same way chrome does.

#64 The_Decryptor

The_Decryptor

    STEAL THE DECLARATION OF INDEPENDENCE

  • Tech Issues Solved: 4
  • Joined: 28-September 02
  • Location: Sol System
  • OS: iSymbian 9.2 SP24.8 Mars Bar

Posted 14 April 2011 - 15:06

I love how Firefox claims to be "native" on OS X but in reality there is a lot about Firefox that isn't. It's certainly not a Cocoa application, for starters... And they didn't even put half a lick of effort into the UI design for version 4 compared to how different the Windows version now looks.
...

It is a Cocoa application, but that just means it uses the Cocoa APIs, nothing to do with how "native" the app is (And in that regard it's really on-par with Safari, both UIs are custom)

Any idea when Firefox will catch up in image handling to the competition.
~ 500MB RAM after 3 pages of [NSFW] Forums about to reach... thread

When they work out how to make images not take up RAM, and after that I'm sure they'll share it with the competition (since every application uses RAM to store data)

#65 OP bogas04

bogas04

    This title is bogus

  • Joined: 15-May 09
  • Location: India
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: Lumia 920

Posted 14 April 2011 - 15:09

I love how Firefox claims to be "native" on OS X but in reality there is a lot about Firefox that isn't. It's certainly not a Cocoa application, for starters... And they didn't even put half a lick of effort into the UI design for version 4 compared to how different the Windows version now looks.


links?

#66 kilara1988

kilara1988

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 14-September 10

Posted 14 April 2011 - 15:50

I had the compatibility addon but it wasn't updated untill now and addons werent working on 6.0a1 without the about:config string.Now the addon updated,so no need for the string anymore.

#67 Xtreme $niper

Xtreme $niper

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 16-July 04
  • Location: Canada

Posted 14 April 2011 - 22:36

It is a Cocoa application, but that just means it uses the Cocoa APIs, nothing to do with how "native" the app is (And in that regard it's really on-par with Safari, both UIs are custom)

I don't actually believe it uses Cocoa APIs, and if it does, it surely doesn't use enough of them. I'm not able to utilize any of the native Cocoa features that you can use in any other app, like TextEdit. I should be able to pop up the quick dictionary, or use the native OS level spell checker, among other things. There was a convo in a thread about this not too long ago in the Apple Support forums.

links?

The first post had a link to "Are We Native Yet?"

#68 remixedcat

remixedcat

    meow!

  • Tech Issues Solved: 1
  • Joined: 28-December 10
  • Location: Vmware ESXi and Hyper-V happy clouds
  • OS: Windows Server 2012 R2
  • Phone: I use telepathy and cat meows to communicate

Posted 15 April 2011 - 01:33

"Are We Native Yet?" no :alien:

#69 OP bogas04

bogas04

    This title is bogus

  • Joined: 15-May 09
  • Location: India
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: Lumia 920

Posted 15 April 2011 - 03:52

The first post had a link to "Are We Native Yet?"


Why dont u care to know things first? :crazy: Its ABOUT STANDARDS AND THE NATIVE HTML5 **** WHICH MS GAVE !!

#70 Gaffney

Gaffney

    I have no title

  • Joined: 24-September 09

Posted 15 April 2011 - 12:12

Peacekeeper gave me:
Firefox(v6.0a1) Scored:
6628 Points

Firefox(v5.0a2) Scored:
6579 Points

Palemoon(v4.0) Scored:
5784 Points

#71 Xtreme $niper

Xtreme $niper

    Neowinian Senior

  • Joined: 16-July 04
  • Location: Canada

Posted 15 April 2011 - 14:36

Why dont u care to know things first? :crazy: Its ABOUT STANDARDS AND THE NATIVE HTML5 **** WHICH MS GAVE !!

Then they should be more specific. And since when did they call that being "native"? Native means native to a platform. Supporting HTML5 standards means being "standards compliant".

And I hope you're joking about the Microsoft bit. :blink:

#72 OP bogas04

bogas04

    This title is bogus

  • Joined: 15-May 09
  • Location: India
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: Lumia 920

Posted 15 April 2011 - 17:04

Then they should be more specific. And since when did they call that being "native"? Native means native to a platform. Supporting HTML5 standards means being "standards compliant".

And I hope you're joking about the Microsoft bit. :blink:


ya m joking , so is opera and others

#73 dnast

dnast

    Long-winded

  • Joined: 07-January 02
  • Location: Location Location

Posted 15 April 2011 - 23:50

There's been some progress on tab animations for reordering and detaching (still a work in progress) and the new site identity block. There is a tryserver build available if you want to check it out, but understand that it could potentially be very unstable, though I've haven't run into any problems so far.

This is one feature I was hoping would make it into Firefox 5. I didn't like the drop-marker style of reordering when it was first introduced to Fx, and now it just feels terribly outdated. It seems pretty far along so I'm hoping they make an exception for this fix and push it to Aurora.

#74 +Heartripper

Heartripper

    Neowinian

  • Joined: 10-December 09
  • Location: Italy
  • OS: Windows 8.1
  • Phone: Nokia Lumia 925

Posted 16 April 2011 - 06:35

There's been some progress on tab animations for reordering and detaching (still a work in progress) and the new site identity block. There is a tryserver build available if you want to check it out, but understand that it could potentially be very unstable, though I've haven't run into any problems so far.

This is one feature I was hoping would make it into Firefox 5. I didn't like the drop-marker style of reordering when it was first introduced to Fx, and now it just feels terribly outdated. It seems pretty far along so I'm hoping they make an exception for this fix and push it to Aurora.


i don't like how identity button looks lke but, wow, the tab reordering animation is incredible!! :woot:

anyway, do you have the bug # for identity button and tab animation?

#75 OP bogas04

bogas04

    This title is bogus

  • Joined: 15-May 09
  • Location: India
  • OS: Windows 8
  • Phone: Lumia 920

Posted 16 April 2011 - 09:16

i don't like how identity button looks lke but, wow, the tab reordering animation is incredible!! :woot:

anyway, do you have the bug # for identity button and tab animation?

https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=455694 for reordering