Jump to content



Photo

Crytek wants PS4/Xbox 720 to have 8GB of RAM


  • Please log in to reply
88 replies to this topic

#1 MightyJordan

MightyJordan

    Neowinian Senior

  • 17,343 posts
  • Joined: 15-January 06
  • Location: Plymouth, England
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: Google Nexus 5 32GB

Posted 18 April 2011 - 14:10

Crytek wants PS4/Xbox 720 to have 8GB of RAM

Crytek, who's Crysis games are some of the most resource-hungry on PC, wants to see Sony and Microsoft's next consoles get 16 times more RAM than the current machines.

Crytek's R&D principal graphics engineer Tiago Sousa has said the current console's most restrictive attribute for visual detail is their lack of RAM. "My finger-pointing at Microsoft/Sony would really be on the memory side," he told Digital Foundry. "It's way too low, and the biggest crippling factor from a visual perspective," added Sousa.

So we need more RAM, he says. How much? A lot. "I would really like to see next-gen console platforms with a minimum of 8GB," said Sousa.

The developer managed to get Crysis 2 looking pretty sweet with 360 and PS3's 512MB of RAM though, don't you think?


[ Source: Digital Foundry ]


I'd love for that to happen. :) Does anyone else here reckon that the next generation of consoles won't be such a huge leap forward? The graphics can't get much better than they are now. The only real advancement I can think of that should be implemented in the next generation is every single game running at 1080p and 60FPS. That's the only bone I've got to pick with most current console games. It's not like it's impossible to do; there's loads of titles on the 360 and the PS3 with 60FPS gameplay (Ridge Racer 6 & 7, Call of Duty, Forza, GT, etc.). 1080p is a different matter, but if the next generation consoles are much more powerful, it should be a doddle then.


#2 Jan

Jan

    It's not a Navy boat, it's a Gravy boat

  • 4,033 posts
  • Joined: 02-September 09
  • Location: England
  • OS: Windows 8.1, Android Lollipop
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 18 April 2011 - 14:15

8GB!?!!?

#3 Tekkerson

Tekkerson

    Droppin' them beats like hot potatoes.

  • 1,390 posts
  • Joined: 05-March 08
  • Location: Dallas, TX

Posted 18 April 2011 - 14:16

8GB!?!!?


8GB is not that much...


8GB of DDR3 is around $80 but manufacturers can either produce their own or get really cheap deals with other companies...

#4 Jen Smith

Jen Smith

    Gone

  • 1,446 posts
  • Joined: 26-May 07

Posted 18 April 2011 - 14:17

Totally reasonable for this day and age. Sure it'll do wonders for the price, but what's the point of having next gen hardware when it won't have the room to do anything with it?

#5 presence06

presence06

    Neowinian Senior

  • 3,608 posts
  • Joined: 23-October 05
  • Location: Minnesota
  • OS: Windows 7 Ultimate
  • Phone: Samsung Galaxy S3 (4.1.2)

Posted 18 April 2011 - 14:18

I think 32-64GB should be a standard. :p

#6 OP MightyJordan

MightyJordan

    Neowinian Senior

  • 17,343 posts
  • Joined: 15-January 06
  • Location: Plymouth, England
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: Google Nexus 5 32GB

Posted 18 April 2011 - 14:18

8GB!?!!?

To be fair, it's not that extreme. :p Most entry-level PCs have at least 4GB of RAM nowadays, and most gaming PCs now go beyond 8GB, usually 16GB or 32GB, unless they're using triple-channel motherboards, then it'd be 12GB, 24GB and 36GB.


It is amazing though how much the developers have managed to do on the current consoles even with their tiny amounts of RAM. I'm pretty sure 512MB is the same amount of RAM found in the iPhone. :p

#7 vetneufuse

neufuse

    Neowinian Senior

  • 17,209 posts
  • Joined: 16-February 04

Posted 18 April 2011 - 14:19

you guys have to remember though, these are dedicated machines, what we do with 4GB on an OS based PC, we can do with 512MB on a console... due to keeping "extra" tasks from taking up that space and specializing tasks to use less ram due to fixed hardware.....

I can see the next machines having maybe 4GB since that would cost them oh about $25 in chips

#8 OP MightyJordan

MightyJordan

    Neowinian Senior

  • 17,343 posts
  • Joined: 15-January 06
  • Location: Plymouth, England
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: Google Nexus 5 32GB

Posted 18 April 2011 - 14:20

Totally reasonable for this day and age. Sure it'll do wonders for the price, but what's the point of having next gen hardware when it won't have the room to do anything with it?

It might not be that bad, price-wise. The 360 uses 512MB of GDDR3 RAM clocked at 700MHz, and you can get 8GB of DDR3 1333MHz RAM for about £60 now. :)

#9 Vandalsquad

Vandalsquad

    Neowinian

  • 1,032 posts
  • Joined: 21-March 06
  • Location: Australia

Posted 18 April 2011 - 14:21

Might not be out of the ball park.. The price of ram is just getting less and less these days and being such a crucial part to consoles I could see both Sony and Microsoft trying to get one over the other with more.

#10 OP MightyJordan

MightyJordan

    Neowinian Senior

  • 17,343 posts
  • Joined: 15-January 06
  • Location: Plymouth, England
  • OS: Windows 8.1 Pro x64
  • Phone: Google Nexus 5 32GB

Posted 18 April 2011 - 14:22

you guys have to remember though, these are dedicated machines, what we do with 4GB on an OS based PC, we can do with 512MB on a console... due to keeping "extra" tasks from taking up that space and specializing tasks to use less ram due to fixed hardware.....

Exactly. That's the most important difference between consoles and PCs in terms of gaming.

#11 Nick H.

Nick H.

    Neowinian Senior

  • 11,807 posts
  • Joined: 28-June 04
  • Location: Switzerland

Posted 18 April 2011 - 14:22

8GB is not that much...

Eh, it is and it isn't.

8GB on a PC is fine. It'll probably future-proof you for a while as well. But having done a quick look for 8GB RAM it seems to come at a price, which I imagine would be added to the price of the console somehow. And as the article says, when you look at what they've achieved with 512MB RAM, do they really need to put in 8GB? I agree they will probably need to update it from 512MB, but maybe something like 4GB would be fine? Heck, given what they can do with 512MB, maybe 2GB would be fine...

EDIT: That said, I wasn't thinking about the age of the current consoles at the moment. Maybe things will change, especially given that these current consoles are supposed to be around for another 5 years.

#12 Jan

Jan

    It's not a Navy boat, it's a Gravy boat

  • 4,033 posts
  • Joined: 02-September 09
  • Location: England
  • OS: Windows 8.1, Android Lollipop
  • Phone: Nexus 5

Posted 18 April 2011 - 14:24

Still 8gb is better for me as i'm bound to buy the Xbox.Next (Not sure about the PS4 though - the online lacks in comparison imo.)

#13 TheLegendOfMart

TheLegendOfMart

    Neowinian Senior

  • 9,281 posts
  • Joined: 01-October 01
  • Location: England

Posted 18 April 2011 - 14:24

Consoles dont need that much ram they dont have overheads like running a full OS with loads of background processes. They need graphics ram more than they need system ram. PS3 is gimped with 256Mb (i know it can dip into the system ram but its much slower), i dont see next gen consoles having much more than 1-2Gb of ram, 8Gb is pointless.

#14 firey

firey

    F͎̗͉͎͈͑͡ȉ͎̣̐́ṙ͖̺͕͙̓̌è̤̞͉̟̲͇̍̍̾̓ͥͅy͓̍̎̌̏̒

  • 8,062 posts
  • Joined: 30-October 05
  • Location: Alberta, Canada
  • OS: Windows 7
  • Phone: Android (4.4.2)

Posted 18 April 2011 - 14:26

I can see next gen consoles becoming more like a PC.. having multi-tasking, and all that. Having more ram will allow for that. 8gb of ram at one time would of been crazy.. but now it's becoming common practice for >4gb of ram common.

#15 MarkusDarkus

MarkusDarkus

    Neowinian Senior

  • 2,512 posts
  • Joined: 11-October 04
  • Location: Birmingham, England

Posted 18 April 2011 - 14:28

Wait, What?! :blink:

:rofl: