Facebook applications being added without authorizations, again?

Not too long ago, there was a bug on Facebook that allowed applications to be installed on your account without your authorization.   Facebook claimed that they had fixed this bug, and that users needed to remove any unauthorized applications themselves.

Over the past few weeks, we have received a couple of tips from Facebook users reporting that unauthorized applications were again being installed on their account.  One forum member, Sais Shishir Ks, alerted us again of the issue and the banter is becoming harder to ignore. 

Below is a screen shot of his application list where he claims the top 4 applications were unauthorized.  Having applications added to a user’s account without authorization could allow for unwanted information to be captured and used in ways the user does not desire.

The last time this occurred, a user went to specific websites whilst logged into Facebook, and an app for the website was instantly added to the user profile. There was no prompt to the user, the Facebook window did not have to be open, and you did not need to be signed into the website which adds the app. But this was just the last bug; perhaps there is a new backdoor way of adding applications to users' profiles without their consent.

If you have any unwanted applications added to your account, let us know in the comments below.  
 

Report a problem with article
Previous Story

Google is staying in China, for now

Next Story

Fring does iPhone 4 video chat, now over 3G

21 Comments

View more comments

Fritzly said,

+1000

-1 googol

you guys are just idiots. I've never had any problems, therefore you're doing something wrong. Facebook is not the problem, it's all the morons on it.

Fritzly said,

+1000

Some people LOVE trolling. Just because you aren't fans of certain things, this doesn't mean you have to be so stubborn, trying to convince other ppl.. Just STOP IT!

efthlouk said,

Some people LOVE trolling. Just because you aren't fans of certain things, this doesn't mean you have to be so stubborn, trying to convince other ppl.. Just STOP IT!

This person is right. I used to, now I don't care less what people do/think. facebook in my mind is a POS and the work of the devil, but if you think it's good then good for you, enjoy it.

neufuse said,
yeah I have a bunch on mine that I dont know how got there.. again after removing all them last time

Your not alone, I dont think its as widespread this time but there are far to many people saying this for it to be a "one-off" situation.

bdsams said,

Your not alone, I dont think its as widespread this time but there are far to many people saying this for it to be a "one-off" situation.

I know they definatly didnt get there from my actions, I haven't logged into facebook in a month (Excluding today when I looked at what apps where there now) and I deleted the old ones last time I was in... so they are showing up on their own that is for sure

I know for sure that there's an application called "BiggestFan" that keeps adding itself to my apps even after countless times of hiding and deleting it.

I would like to add that, I am always quite concerned about security in my computer.
To stay safe from cookie thieves ans other scammers, I always open suspicious links in different browser, where I am not logged into any site.
But still these four apps got added to my profile. And as everyone can see, the titles of the applications have brackets oddly.

It's sad that Facebook can't keep up with it's popularity.

I just clicked one of those illegal apps, and it asks authorization even thought it's appearing in my recently used list, which means it has to be authorized already.
Also, these apps have 5-star ratings.

I had that from events too. I had a lot of events that I supposely said I was attending and that my contact received (had it live, was playing COD and my gf told me I just invited her to an events)

Some people are kind of stupid though, A couple of "viral" videos went around that meant if you wanted to view it you had to let the app have pretty much full control (post on your wall ect) and then it wanted to download new flv playing software, yeah right! basically it would d/l some unknown shiz and posted to all your friends Hey, check this AWESOME vid out. not that I went that far but I certainly got aobut 500 posts to my wall about Hey, check this out!

Hence why I've disabled all type of application and simply left it open to use for contact with friends, which is the whole purpose of it.

Commenting is disabled on this article.