Facebook reverts back to old Terms of Use

Facebook recently made changes to their Terms of Use on their web site, which gave Facebook all permissions of your images, videos, and content when submitting anything to the web site.

The social networking web site received a tremendous response to the update of the policy, which caused a lot of caution flags to go up. The company has responded by removing their recently updated Terms of Use and replacing it with their old Terms of Use while the web site makes adjustments to their policy.

The message posted on the web site reads:
"Over the past few days, we have received a lot of feedback about the new terms we posted two weeks ago. Because of this response, we have decided to return to our previous Terms of Use while we resolve the issues that people have raised.

If you want to share your thoughts on our new terms, check out our group Facebook Bill of Rights and Responsibilities."

During the writing of the article, Facebook had updated their message again to this:

The revised Terms of Use, now restored to the original, angered a lot of users that posting their content was essentially giving Facebook full rights to the content users submit, including personal stuff such as images, comments and videos.

The Terms of Use is now set back to the old policy, with the stamp on the last revision set to September 23, 2008.

View: Facebooks Terms of Use

Report a problem with article
Previous Story

IE8 RTM expected in March

Next Story

Eee PCs to support native Windows 7 Mobile Broadband

33 Comments - Add comment