Google+ adds ignore, blocking and sharing features

Google's launch of its Google+ social networking service is still in its infancy but the company continues to add new features for users of the service. This week one of the most requested features has been added; the ability to put an "Ignore" on certain users. You can also choose to completely block them from your Google+ account. The new features were revealed earlier this week via Google's Olga Wichrowska on her own Google+ page.

Placing a Google+ user on your Ignore list means that you will no longer be able to see them on your Circles page nor see any of their posts on your Incoming news stream. The person you have placed on the Ignore list won't know that you have done so ... unless you flat out tell them, of course. Blocking a Google+ user is more serious. If you choose to block a user they will not see anything that you decide to share with members of your Google Circles. They also won't be able to comment on any of your Google+ posts.

Google also added another new feature this week that involves its +1 button. As described on the official Google blog page, Google+ users can now click on any +1 buttons to share web pages with people in their Google+ Circles. Sharing that web site will also bring up what Google is calling +snippets; a link to that web site along with an image and a short description. Both sharing and +snippets should be made available to all Google+ users in the next week.

Report a problem with article
Previous Story

Counter-Strike: Global Offensive to have cross-platform play

Next Story

Review: Toshiba Satellite P755

5 Comments

"If you choose to block a user they will not see anything that you decide to share with members of your Google Circles. They also won't be able to comment on any of your Google+ posts."

Irony? If a person is not able to see anything I post, then it negates the possibility of him commenting on my post automatically!!?? Am I missing something here?

Mohitster said,
"If you choose to block a user they will not see anything that you decide to share with members of your Google Circles. They also won't be able to comment on any of your Google+ posts."

Irony? If a person is not able to see anything I post, then it negates the possibility of him commenting on my post automatically!!?? Am I missing something here?


Too many computer users are dumb, so Google has to ensure they have no concerns. Idiots who don't see anywhere that blocking someone will prevent them from commenting on their posts might start assuming and complaining (just as they do frequently about certain Facebook features).

Commenting is disabled on this article.