Important message to Windows Live Messenger customers

As some of you have noted on our forum, yesterday an important service announcement accidentally went out to a large audience of Windows Live Messenger users with the following message:

"Important service announcement: As part of a recent system enhancement, we need you to change your e-mail address to continue signing in to the Windows Live™ Messenger Service. To ensure that your access is not blocked and to learn more, go to http://support.microsoft.com/gp/Messenger/en"

The message was sent from "messenger@microsoft.com" and was actually legitimate. However was not intended to go out to the people that received the Instant Message yesterday. The Windows Live Messenger team has posted a alert for customers to please disregard the message.

The team admits that these service notifications are only used for urgent issues and that someone made an internal error that caused the message to be sent out. "We will definitely be reviewing our process to make sure we avoid such mistakes in the future" the Windows Live Team noted.

Report a problem with article
Previous Story

NeowinCAST Gamers Edition April 2009

Next Story

Facebook hits 200 million users

15 Comments

Commenting is disabled on this article.

That message exists for companies that install Office Communicator. It integrates with exchange, and if you have an ID in Office Communicator you can't have the same address for Live Messenger.

When a company installs Office Communicator, those messages are sent to the accounts that are active in Live Messenger.

"We will definitely be reviewing our process to make sure we avoid such mistakes in the future" -- that tells me the person who made the mistake is in a bit of trouble

I didn't get the message. Looks like spam, and I would be VERY shocked if they actually forced people to upgrade to a new email address

one thing is that the message gets sent out by mistake, but they surely didnt write that mess by mistake. for what scenario would that message be?

Julius Caro said,
one thing is that the message gets sent out by mistake, but they surely didnt write that mess by mistake. for what scenario would that message be?


As far as I can tell from internal discussions it is used when people's account have been spread through spam networks. Like per say that your account's password is leaked, and it gets spread. Then you will be required to change your e-mail address to prevent further spreading of the spam, so your account can be closed.

Julius Caro said,
one thing is that the message gets sent out by mistake, but they surely didnt write that mess by mistake. for what scenario would that message be?

Could of been a pre-configured message. It does seem pretty generic.