iPhone users can now access Facebook Timeline

A few days ago, Facebook finally flipped the switch on the Timeline feature that will eventually replace the current profile for all Facebook users. Timeline went live on the Facebook web site, the mobile site (m.facebook.com) and for users of the Android app. Now iPhone users can also join in the Timeline fun with a new update to the iOS Facebook app.

If a person has already established a timeline profile, you can now see it on the 4.1 version of the iPhone app. There's no Timeline support yet for iPad users but the iTunes download page indicates that iPad support will be released soon. The 4.1 version of the iPhone Facebook app also reportedly has improved performance and has access to friend lists, subscribers and subscriptions.

As we have reported before, the new Timeline feature takes the major achievements that you have posted in your Facebook profile and creates a kind of chronology, showing your life via Facebook in place of the normal profile page. Facebook users who wish to access the Timeline feature now have seven days to edit the profile before it automatically becomes public. Users can also choose to edit and then push the Timeline out for public view ahead of the seven day deadline.

Report a problem with article
Previous Story

Report: Xbox Dashboard update cuts down video quality

Next Story

Facebook sues "Mark Zuckerberg" - but not its CEO

14 Comments

Commenting is disabled on this article.

Denis W said,
The app is a bit better than version 4 so far. Last version was horrible.

What was so bad about 4.0? I thought it was pretty great, I mean it could be better but it blew the old one away...
And how is this one any better, it barely changes anything

The original version kept getting the captions of album pictures messed up (4.0.1 fixed that). Also before 4.1 it was possible to get stuck backspacing through a comment thread without ever seeing the menu button.

So does this mean profiles will be public regardless? I have mine set to "friends only" and I expect it to stay that way.

Ericko said,
That's an interesting question... I also want to know...

Now some may argue "Well dont post anything you dont want your family or employer to see" but thats besides the point. (besides my family sees my posts anyway) I dont want the public having access to what I post, my pictures etc.

Ericko said,
That's an interesting question... I also want to know...

Now some may argue "Well dont post anything you dont want your family or employer to see" but thats besides the point. (besides my family sees my posts anyway) I dont want the public having access to what I post, my pictures etc.

CMG_90 said,
So does this mean profiles will be public regardless? I have mine set to "friends only" and I expect it to stay that way.

I think the article means "public view" as in people who are allowed to view your profile will see the Timeline. Not the general public.

Dinggus said,

I think the article means "public view" as in people who are allowed to view your profile will see the Timeline. Not the general public.

Yea this should be it. And I guess the whole question was brought up by odd wording in the article? Gone now if so, don't see anything about anything being public.

As for timeline, with it you have more or at least better and easier control over who sees what than you've ever had on Facebook.

CMG_90 said,
So does this mean profiles will be public regardless? I have mine set to "friends only" and I expect it to stay that way.
I have Timeline and it's not visible to anyone but my friends.... I've checked!

CMG_90 said,
So does this mean profiles will be public regardless? I have mine set to "friends only" and I expect it to stay that way.

It's not public if you've set it as such. It's good, now, because you can control the privacy of pretty much everything. You can even choose to only show something to certain types of people like best friends or colleagues.

CMG_90 said,
So does this mean profiles will be public regardless? I have mine set to "friends only" and I expect it to stay that way.

No, your profile will not become public but you WILL start sharing a little bit more information (well not exactly sharing more information but the way it is organized and displayed on your profile, it is more visible). You can control however what shows up on your timeline (and who can see it) fairly easily. I didn't like it first much but now that I've gotten used to it, it's not so bad...