main

Download Beta Release of Update Rollup1 for WU4 Beta

Tom Warren   on 27 September 2003 - 17:47 · 52 comments & 5724 views

Advertisement (Why?)
A big thanks to XTROV for this

As we previously reported here on Neowin on thursday, Microsoft released the Beta release of Rollup1 on Betaplace. We have now obtained a download link for everyone to obtain a copy of Rollup1 for WU4 Beta.

Be warned this Rollup pack is in beta state so if it blows up your machine, steals your girlfriend or kills your dog then it's not our fault :)

Download removed at the request of Microsoft

View: View Previous Story
News source: In-House
This is BETA software!, please use caution when installing it on your system


If you already accepted this SMB.exe file, here's how to remove it manually:

  • Go to task manager. (Ctrl+alt+del) and select the Process tab
  • Click admagic.exe then click End Process
  • Go to the C: drive and delete smb.exe and admagic.exe.
  • Go to Windows directory and delete atl.dll, raw32x.dll, sm.dll and uz.exe.
  • Go to the registry (Start > Run > type "regedit" > click ok) and go to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINESOFTWAREMicorosoftWindowsCurrentVersionRun. Delete the svchost = admagic.exe string value.

Post a comment · Send to friend Comments · There are 52 additional comments
(1 reply) #1 memodude on 27 Sep 2003 - 17:50
Although this isn't a leak, could you please remove the link to reduce the possibility that:

1. Microsoft might not let as many people join beta programs
2. Microsoft might get mad at you
3. Microsoft might do more internal testing, less external testing
#1.1 vetMr magoo on 27 Sep 2003 - 18:28
QUOTE

1. Microsoft might not let as many people join beta programs
2. Microsoft might get mad at you
3. Microsoft might do more internal testing, less external testing


1. hasnt happened so far has it? Windows XP / whistler was one of the most leaked betas MS have ever done... yet they've gone on to expand external beta testing...
2. they alreadyare.
3. perhaps that would be a good thing in the long run....
(2 replies) #2 Coolme on 27 Sep 2003 - 17:50
QUOTE
steals your girlfriend
That's a bit too far...
#2.1 tapnet on 27 Sep 2003 - 19:46
It happen to me once
#2.2 JK1150 on 27 Sep 2003 - 22:33
isn't that from winamp?
(1 reply) #3 Digital Oracle on 27 Sep 2003 - 17:54
What is this update? I haven't been following this one and dunno what WU4 Beta is?
#3.1 vetMr magoo on 27 Sep 2003 - 18:27
The pack is a roll up of most of the post xp sp1 patches/ bug fixes / security updates for windows xp.
(3 replies) #4 gameguy on 27 Sep 2003 - 18:07
you know, it's a private beta for a reason...
#4.1 vetMr magoo on 27 Sep 2003 - 18:26
you know... you have to type neowin.net to get to neowin- it is an active decsion.
#4.2 gameguy on 27 Sep 2003 - 18:36
and people who "actively decide" to leak betas need to be kicked out of the beta.
#4.3 Sub on 27 Sep 2003 - 18:44
gamguy, chill out a bit. I have'nt seen you say anything positive yet.
(4 replies) #5 i like chips on 27 Sep 2003 - 18:23
mind telling us wtf WU4 is?!
#5.1 vetMr magoo on 27 Sep 2003 - 18:25
next version of windows update.
#5.2 i like chips on 27 Sep 2003 - 18:47
ty
#5.3 xStainDx on 27 Sep 2003 - 21:51
the current* version of windows update.

hence:

http://v4.windowsupdate.microsoft.com/en/default.asp

Is where you end up when you go do your windows updates.
#5.4 gameguy on 27 Sep 2003 - 22:08
exactly, it just has beta updates. v5 is the beta of the actual site.
(1 reply) #6 M118LR on 27 Sep 2003 - 18:32
WU4 is short for Windows Update version 4. This is the version XP uses.
#6.1 xStainDx on 27 Sep 2003 - 21:52
...and Windows 98, Me , NT4 and 2000 and 2003.
(6 replies) #7 Sub on 27 Sep 2003 - 18:32
Is it just me, or is everyone seeing Orange Hover links in the above story..I scanned I have no spyware...strange.
#7.1 astrokat on 27 Sep 2003 - 18:35
QUOTE (#7.0)
Is it just me, or is everyone seeing Orange Hover links in the above story..I scanned I have no spyware...strange.

yea .. wtf??!!!
#7.2 Sub on 27 Sep 2003 - 18:36
I dont mind ads on neowin. But this is really stupid.
#7.3 gameguy on 27 Sep 2003 - 18:38
i don't think it's that bad. some words are just orange, who cares? do you click them?
#7.4 Sub on 27 Sep 2003 - 18:40
I did click them...they suck you in...ahhhh
#7.5 Sub on 27 Sep 2003 - 18:43
Its a subliminal AD for Adaware, making everyone think they have top-text installed...hehe
#7.6 i like chips on 27 Sep 2003 - 18:48
the orange text has you
(2 replies) #8 Crackler on 27 Sep 2003 - 18:38
I see the orange links too
#8.1 Avenger on 27 Sep 2003 - 18:51
Yeah, I'm seeing them too. Why they add them?
#8.2 SHoTTa35 on 27 Sep 2003 - 19:10
accidental clicks should add more hits.... Anandtech started doing it too... i don't like it but oh well..
(2 replies) #9 creamhackered on 27 Sep 2003 - 18:56
Orange links (shock horror) or popups? What would you prefer?
#9.1 chaos945 on 27 Sep 2003 - 19:01
QUOTE
Posted by creamhackered on 27 Sep 2003 - 23:56
Orange links (shock horror) or popups? What would you prefer?

none, I've blocked them all out

Ad Muncher Official Homepage
#9.2 Sub on 27 Sep 2003 - 19:06
popups please.... They will reach browers other then IE.
#10 xGarrett on 27 Sep 2003 - 18:58
Blah, I'm not seeing the orange links that you speak of. Running Mozilla Firebird 0.7 RC1.
#11 Electroglitter on 27 Sep 2003 - 19:00
i'm not sure, techconnect has the orange links and pop-up descritpions and buying stuff...

(2 replies) #12 dougkinzinger on 27 Sep 2003 - 19:05
While I don't agree with the leak, I do know that after install (when I downloaded it from the actual BETA site since I'm testing it) it prevented the Nvidia Detonator 50's from working (it said that the 50's were designed for a previous version of Windows. Crazy. My bug report read it however.
#12.1 Electroglitter on 27 Sep 2003 - 19:08
two beta's dont a make a right lol
#12.2 dougkinzinger on 27 Sep 2003 - 20:19
Yeah really, tell me about it ! But, at least Nvidia doesn't say not to leak their betas, but I'm sure it's a similar premise.
(1 reply) #13 net-cruizer on 27 Sep 2003 - 19:19
Wow, things sure got off topic, lol. I see those orange links too, but I don't understand what the fuss is. What exactly is wrong with them?
I'm not being sarcastic, I'm curious, I see them, I mouse over them and get a tiny text box with info, but to me, that just seems like some sort of javascript function that anyone can do. Seems kinda cool really, but why are people mentioning spyware, etc. etc? Is there something I'm missing?
#13.1 memodude on 28 Sep 2003 - 00:27
Some spyware applies ad-text to ALL pages you visit.

I should make an ad filter for neowin.net that removes orange text and ads or something, lol.
#14 StuRReaL on 27 Sep 2003 - 19:34
damn it you were wrong it killed the girlfiend and stole the dog
(2 replies) #15 EmuZombie on 27 Sep 2003 - 19:36
#15.1 OSUKid7 on 27 Sep 2003 - 20:02
never get tired of that one
#15.2 snippet1 on 28 Sep 2003 - 12:45
Especially how Microsoft is misspelt...
#16 tapnet on 27 Sep 2003 - 19:51
he he
#17 Know Won on 27 Sep 2003 - 20:17
Beta patch for a Beta.
Now that is something I never heard of before.
#18 carlito on 28 Sep 2003 - 01:21
lol... i just noticed the download link is comming straight off of microsofts servers
(1 reply) #19 thexfile on 28 Sep 2003 - 02:57
Everywhere I go the orange link keeps looking at me...
#19.1 jameseuk on 28 Sep 2003 - 16:32
same here
#20 DJ Prem on 28 Sep 2003 - 07:17
#21 plasticparadox on 28 Sep 2003 - 15:16
I don't know what you're talking about, I don't have orange links.
#22 A10 on 29 Sep 2003 - 04:15
An example of these orange links here .
(1 reply) #23 RazorSA on 30 Sep 2003 - 07:31
watch here : software ...
#23.1 RazorSA on 30 Sep 2003 - 07:33
Now the orange links are gone ...

Commenting has either been disabled on this article or you are not logged in. Click here to login or register, its free!

Note: Anonymous commenting is disabled in order to keep the quality of responses to a high standard.

Advertisement (Why?)