Domain Name registration again in vouge
Posted by Dane2003 on 11 June 2004 - 11:54 · 29 comments & 3543 views
- Advertisement
-
-
(2 replies)
#1 Posted by dougkinzinger on 11 Jun 2004 - 12:00
- Back in 96, I noticed that "www.finalfantasy.com" was available. Had I been older than 15 at the time, I would have bought it and squatted.

-
#1.1 Posted by area91 on 11 Jun 2004 - 12:08
- You could have made them pay! Way back in the early 90's, microsoft.net was available too!
-
#1.2 Posted by dougkinzinger on 11 Jun 2004 - 12:24
- Right, I should have!

-
(5 replies)
#2 Posted by NXTwoThou on 11 Jun 2004 - 12:16
- I do the spam filtering at my work. How many of these domains are HJEDFFJ.info and the like? Every day I add one or two more of these craptackular junk registered domains to the list. Back in the day when it actually cost something to register a domain, this wouldn't have happened.
-
#2.2 Posted by NXTwoThou on 11 Jun 2004 - 16:02
- Legit..here's some from the past few days..
DFBELE.INFO
tavbswc.com
asmnsbl.com
fihs.info
FLLMNA.info
jfd4b3n.com
HJJMHN.biz
LENFGB.biz
GGCANM.info
behoove7079pill.biz
qwmends2.com
amsnawl.com
ligcie.info
dniuf7r.com
haoisu.com
HABCCA.info
NANNEH.biz
defeat6518drug.us
Heh, there's currently 5,490 in my keyword list.
-
#2.3 Posted by moeburn on 11 Jun 2004 - 16:28
- you can easily fake a domain name when spamming. I can guarantee 99% of those domain names don't even exist, and never have. With relay-capable email, you can make up a from address on the spot.
-
#3 Posted by Sub on 11 Jun 2004 - 12:22
- Good more websites for me to design =)
-
(3 replies)
#4 Posted by _//_TechTV on 11 Jun 2004 - 12:37
- Should the title say "vogue" instead of vouge ??
-
#4.1 Posted by Dane2003 on 11 Jun 2004 - 12:55
- BLAH! Yes, it should say "Vogue", not "Vouge". Musta typed that too fast, I gotta be careful, slipped right by.
-
(2 replies)
#5 Posted by Palverone on 11 Jun 2004 - 12:45
- you've just caused half your readership to go to dictionary.com's vouge entry
-
#5.1 Posted by Daedalus on 11 Jun 2004 - 13:04
- vouge
n : a kind of pike used by foot soldiers in the 14th century -
#5.2 Posted by dougkinzinger on 11 Jun 2004 - 13:31
- LOL!

-
#6 Posted by Geo on 11 Jun 2004 - 12:54
- ROFLMAO ... vouge
-
#7 Posted by Magallanes on 11 Jun 2004 - 13:29
- www.neowin.com has registered?
-
(7 replies)
#8 Posted by neufuse on 11 Jun 2004 - 13:39
- well over the past two weeks ive goten pissed off... I have goten 20 letters in the mail telling me its time to renew domains i dont even own... then asking for checks of $25 to $99 a year per domain... FROM REAL COMPANIES TOO like verisign and register.com and some place called domain solutins? while all my 5 domains i have are registered through godaddy for only $8 a year for the next 10yrs perpaid... and the sad thing is the fact the letters i get in the mail asking me to renew are for other peoples domains... i dont know how they tied my name and address to someone else's whois info.....
-
#8.1 Posted by dougkinzinger on 11 Jun 2004 - 13:48
- Don't blow a gasket, dude. All you have to do is call each registrar who contacted you and tell them you don't own the said 20 domains.
It's that easy, don't get carried away man. -
#8.2 Posted by MuD on 11 Jun 2004 - 13:59
QUOTE (#8.0) well over the past two weeks ive goten pissed off... I have goten 20 letters in the mail telling me its time to renew domains i dont even own... then asking for checks of $25 to $99 a year per domain... FROM REAL COMPANIES TOO like verisign and register.com and some place called domain solutins? while all my 5 domains i have are registered through godaddy for only $8 a year for the next 10yrs perpaid... and the sad thing is the fact the letters i get in the mail asking me to renew are for other peoples domains... i dont know how they tied my name and address to someone else's whois info.....
Some companies are fools. Just ignore those messages. If they ask you again, tell them to stick it up their *ss.
-
#8.3 Posted by neufuse on 11 Jun 2004 - 13:59
- no its as easy as i just throw them in the trash and laugh at their stupidity of thinking i will renew any domain for up to 10x what I pay..
I'm pissed off at companies like VeriSign though that have always done questionable business pratices with this stuff -
#8.4 Posted by Cy Bones on 11 Jun 2004 - 14:36
- Maybe you could threaten these companies with a Vouge...
-
#8.5 Posted by dougkinzinger on 11 Jun 2004 - 15:25
- LOL, yeah!
-
#8.6 Posted by moeburn on 11 Jun 2004 - 16:30
- spammers can easily fake domain name registrar email addresses. By replying to the email, you verify your email exists.
-
(1 reply)
#9 Posted by Varsity on 11 Jun 2004 - 16:06
- <Obligatory www.llanfairpwllgwyngyllgogerychwyrndrobwyll-llantysiliogogogoch.com/ post>
-
#9.1 Posted by DirtyLarry on 11 Jun 2004 - 17:57
- thats hilarious i have never seen that before...
Submit to reddit
Submit to blinklist
Bookmark on del.icio.us
Add to furl
Share on Facebook
Add to Windows Live
While domain name carpetbagging became a sport during the dot-com boom, as entrepreneurs snapped up URLs they hoped to sell for thousands of dollars, today's buyers are generally legitimate and simply want a Web address in order to publish a Web site.
More than 4.7 million new registrants joined the list of owners in the first three months of this year--an all-time high, according to VeriSign's latest domain name report. The number of registrations for the first quarter of this year shows 21 percent growth year over year. Generic top-level domains like .biz and .name are the poor cousins of the domain name game, with 8 percent of registrations compared with .com's 45 percent.
Hello All,
We are currently looking to recruit trialists, for a trial of a new Internet Browser Toolbar. The trial is scheduled to begin around the end of June and will run until everyone has completed their script.
There are however a couple of requirements you need to be aware of:
*We only require trialists who have Windows 2000 or XP (if you have
anything different please advise)
*We are only looking for 100 trialists mixed across all tiers, so
recruitment will be done on first come basis.
I hope you would like to participate in the trial, and if so, please reply to this mail to advise.
thanks
NTL