A Taiwan-based site is offering to sell the DVD copying software once sold by defunct 321 Studios Inc., which was driven out of business last week. DVDXCopy2.com appears to have mirrored some of the content once found on the 321 Studios Web site, including images and endorsements from various computer magazines and review sites. Web browsers accessing the site's "secure server" did not detect the use of any form of encryption, however, possibly implying that the site is not legitimate.
The site is registered to an "admin" e-mail address at DVDXcopy.com, one of the URLs used to sell the 321 Studios DVD-ripping software. A lookup of the registration information reveals that the site's tech contact is Doff Wu, also listed in conjunction with a Taipei address. Wu could not be contacted at press time for comment.
News source: eWeek
The site is registered to an "admin" e-mail address at DVDXcopy.com, one of the URLs used to sell the 321 Studios DVD-ripping software. A lookup of the registration information reveals that the site's tech contact is Doff Wu, also listed in conjunction with a Taipei address. Wu could not be contacted at press time for comment.
System Requirements
Supported Operating Systems: Macintosh
Mac OS X version 10.1 to 10.3.x (excluding 10.0)
15MB hard disk space
An available USB port

-Malebolgia
Last edited by 11622 on 13 Aug 2004 - 03:04
Last edited by 37217 on 14 Aug 2004 - 01:57
Last edited by 13 on 13 Aug 2004 - 07:17
And it all seems kinda odd, but makes sense at the same time. You get a large legal bill for your rather successful software, so you file for bankruptcy and sod off to a different country outside the courts power and set up again.
Commenting has either been disabled on this article or you are not logged in. Click here to login or register, its free!
Note: Anonymous commenting is disabled in order to keep the quality of responses to a high standard.