main

Microsoft says sorry for AntiSpyware error

malebolgia   on 24 February 2005 - 21:39 · 38 comments & 2338 views

Advertisement (Why?)
Microsoft has publicly apologized and compensated Web directory Startpagina.nl, one of MSN's main competitors in Holland, after the software giant's anti-spyware product incorrectly flagged the site as malicious.

A Microsoft representative confirmed on Thursday that the Windows AntiSpyware beta prevented people from setting Startpagina as their home page. The representative said this problem has now been fixed in the latest update of the program. "Microsoft has posted a notice on the Web sites of Microsoft Netherlands and Microsoft Belgium that includes an appeal to download the new version of Windows AntiSpyware and provides an apology for the difficulty this issue may have caused Startpagina.nl and its users," the representative said.

News source: C|Net News.com


What's new
  1. A new selection command “Select Group” – select similar files. E.g. pic001.jpg, pic002.jpg….
  2. A new command “Command Prompt” in the "Tools" menu. It opens a command prompt for the current folder.
  3. Multi-Rename Dialog – replace command can replace all occurrences of a string
  4. A new Multi-Rename Mode. “Insert” insert a string on a specified position in the file name.
  5. An option to disable the calculation of the folder sizes.
  6. A new set of quick move commands. (In “Edit” popup menu)
  7. “Move to tabs” – shows a popup menu to move the selected files to one the folders open by ExplorerXP
  8. “Move to subfolder” – shows a popup menu to move the selected files to a subfolder of the current folder.
  9. “Move to groups” – shows a popup menu to move the selected files to a folder from the groups.
  10. “Move to Parent” - shows a popup menu to move the selected files to the parent folder.

Post a comment · Send to friend Comments · There are 38 additional comments
(3 replies) #1 eilegz on 24 Feb 2005 - 22:32
yeah and who dun think that they didnt do it in purpose
#1.1 Hills420 on 25 Feb 2005 - 01:08
I bet they did do it on purpose... I'm surprised someone noticed.
#1.2 Black on 26 Feb 2005 - 15:57
If it was a site that nobody would notice being gone anyway why would they bother blocking it - it's blatently a mistake
#1.3 OnyxAlien on 26 Feb 2005 - 22:35
QUOTE
Startpagina.nl is a popular directory site in the Netherlands, with about 4 million daily users, and competes with Microsoft's MSN.nl site, Wiggers said.
Ref: ComputerWorld

I think "4 million daily users" would notice if startpagina.nl was gone. Though I don't think the mistake was purposeful.
(2 replies) #2 DjTeriyake on 24 Feb 2005 - 22:38
QUOTE
compensated


How much are we talkin' here?
#2.1 soldier1st on 24 Feb 2005 - 22:55
in excess of 2 billion
#2.2 PCyr on 25 Feb 2005 - 00:38
QUOTE
in excess of 2 billion

I don't think he's that gullible.
#3 soldier1st on 24 Feb 2005 - 22:53
1
(1 reply) #4 cyu on 24 Feb 2005 - 23:01
error? what about considering firefox as spyware?
#4.1 imtoomuch on 25 Feb 2005 - 07:42
Maybe because it's not spyware. Are you that dumb or are you just being a prick?
(1 reply) #5 Colin-uk on 24 Feb 2005 - 23:31
lol, this wouldnt have been so bad if the site wasnt a rival of msn
#5.1 SquareSoft0 on 25 Feb 2005 - 00:07
It's more like a bunch of noob links, a 13-year-old could have done it.
(2 replies) #6 deadmonkey on 24 Feb 2005 - 23:34
They made a mistake. People saying they did it on purpose are obviously a little dim as this is giving the company even more publicity! Companies very rarly try and block the competition this way, doing so only makes them look bad and gives the other company loads of free publicity!
#6.1 zORYn on 24 Feb 2005 - 23:58
QUOTE
Companies very rarly try and block the competition this way

you realize it's microsoft we're talkin here
#6.2 KayMan2K on 25 Feb 2005 - 13:38
QUOTE
Companies very rarly try and block the competition this way

Microsoft has a history of doing this though, most notably against Opera browser.
#7 smashguy on 24 Feb 2005 - 23:46
error? whats the problem?
(1 reply) #8 figgy on 25 Feb 2005 - 00:04
Pay for error in a beta software!!
Thats a first.

Me thinks all people who downloaded the software must be considered external testers not consumers.
People who install betaware are supposed to be installing it at their own risk.
#8.1 darksoul on 25 Feb 2005 - 15:29
it amazes me that you are the first person to point this out. it is a beta people, meaning it still has issues.
(1 reply) #9 BigBoy on 25 Feb 2005 - 00:11
My guess (but just a guess) is that this was a poblem since Giant times, not a new problem... can anyone verify?
#9.1 Black on 26 Feb 2005 - 15:58
I was wondering the same thing...
#10 oDD on 25 Feb 2005 - 03:33
Jee's look at all the dodgy javascript in the source of that page! I'd say its bordering on malicious also.
#11 unexplainedmilk on 25 Feb 2005 - 03:49
It's probably best to leave the error... who HONESTLY would want something like that as their homepage?

Really doesn't make sense to me why anyone has a homepage anyways... mine is about:blank because I don't want to wait for a stupid website to load before I can try to go anywhere else (note that I'm still conputing with a 600 MHz Celery with 128MB RAM [1Mbps DSL] here so it really does stop me from typing in the address bar in both IE and Firefox until the page finishes downloading and rendering). I'm sure even if I had a newer faster PC I would keep about:blank just because I've had it for so long... I can't stand using a friends PC (3GHz P4 w/HT [1.5Mbps DSL]) and waiting for their stupid homepage to load.
(4 replies) #12 shichiroji4 on 25 Feb 2005 - 04:13
Typical underhand tactics the likes of M$ will do. First they attempt to crush competiton by these dispicable means, then they apologise with plenty of PR to brainwash others into believing it was an honest mistake. Scums!!!
#12.1 SquareSoft0 on 25 Feb 2005 - 05:05
shichi, you've been officially replaced as the Neowin Troll, please return your gun and badge.
#12.2 wildk on 25 Feb 2005 - 11:16
QUOTE
Typical underhand tactics the likes of M$ will do. First they attempt to crush competiton by these dispicable means, then they apologise with plenty of PR to brainwash others into believing it was an honest mistake. Scums!!!


Schichi, i thought they had finally comitted you for all your fanactical biased ranblings, you don't even come up with anything new, just reguritate the same old garbage ever time. oh and squaresoft, i would not trust this kiddie with crayons, let alone a gun
#12.3 madhon on 25 Feb 2005 - 12:11
please dont feed the trolls ;-)
#12.4 PCyr on 25 Feb 2005 - 18:00
QUOTE
i would not trust this kiddie with crayons, let alone a gun

I wouldn't even trust him with jello.
#13 altermind on 25 Feb 2005 - 06:44
WTF... I'd want this awfull website blocked anyways... it's freaking evil
(1 reply) #14 Jason on 25 Feb 2005 - 07:28
Microsoft don't need to appologise as they didn't code this program.
#14.1 tibi08 on 25 Feb 2005 - 12:31
They own the company who programmed it, << personal insult removed >>

Last edited by 36818 on 25 Feb 2005 - 14:13
#15 Ficman on 25 Feb 2005 - 10:47
(2 replies) #16 Davio on 25 Feb 2005 - 13:28
It's worth mentioning that MS didn't even say specifically why it was blocked in the first place.
#16.1 _dandy_ on 25 Feb 2005 - 13:34
> why it was blocked in the first place.

I'm guessing MS's code uses some fuzzy logic that confused the URL with some part of the female anatomy...

#16.2 nw_raptor on 25 Feb 2005 - 13:40
^ LOL.... Major LOL!!
#17 KXM on 25 Feb 2005 - 15:57
Damn... I hope those folks use the 'compensation' to hire some real programers.
#18 sloppycode on 25 Feb 2005 - 16:37
it found "cat.exe" on my computer (windows version of the unix tool) and assumed it was a dutch porn dialer! You would've thought they'd md5 the apps first, or heurestically search the file.
(1 reply) #19 Stalk3r on 27 Feb 2005 - 10:11
http://img95.exs.cx/img95/272/mozillaadware4vs.png could anyone confirm this or is it fake?
#19.1 SquareSoft0 on 27 Feb 2005 - 23:20
Fake, definitely. Too many people somehow believe that Firefox is detected with this program, install Firefox and MS Antispyware for yourself and see.

Commenting has either been disabled on this article or you are not logged in. Click here to login or register, its free!

Note: Anonymous commenting is disabled in order to keep the quality of responses to a high standard.

Advertisement (Why?)