main

Sign up for Microsoft Mail Beta

Daniel Fleshbourne   on 08 October 2005 - 16:49 · 55 comments & 15174 views

Advertisement (Why?)
We think you're going to really like the clean new look and other features -- at least we hope so! We need your feedback to make sure we are doing this thing right.

To sign up for the beta, please give us your e-mail address, and check the box if you want us to keep you in the loop about the latest developments. We'll use your e-mail address for this beta release and relevant updates only.

View: Sign up for the Microsoft Mail beta


and heres the track list

[NFC]Wave Presents: Chris Allen - Neowin.net Exclusive 5th Anniversary Set - 2005.10.01

01. Coburn - We Interrupt This Program
02. Nathan Fake - The Sky was Pink (James Holden remix)
03. Fischer Spooner - Never Win (Benassi mix)
04. The Drill - The Drill (Original mix A1)
05. Igor S - Boomerang (Igor S remix)
06. Mauro Picotto and Riccardo Ferri - New Time New Place (Original mix)
07. Coldplay - White Shadows ( Preach Bootleg)
08. Jochen Miller and Cor Fjineman - San Andreas
09. Marcel Woods - Advanced (Robbie's Pre-Vinyl Bootleg)
10. Randy Katana - Play it Louder
11. Scott Mac - Damager 02 (Mac Zimms remix)
12. Valentino Kanzyani - Neuva York
13. Rank 1 - Beats@Rank1.com (Original mix)

Please visit www.djchrisallen.net for updates and new info on Chris Allen

Post a comment · Send to friend Comments · There are 55 additional comments
#1 TimRogers on 08 Oct 2005 - 16:51
THANK YOU!
#2 Chris_UK on 08 Oct 2005 - 16:55
Woooooooo!
#3 Mieky242 on 08 Oct 2005 - 16:56
Nice!
(2 replies) #4 jh_newroom on 08 Oct 2005 - 16:57
Is it just me, or does that site look really dodgy?
#4.1 dnast on 08 Oct 2005 - 17:09
Yeah. Maybe I'm out of the "know", but I've never heard of ignia.com

Therefore, as much as I'd like to test the new MSN Mail (looks awesome), they aren't getting the addy today.
#4.2 twyst3d on 09 Oct 2005 - 21:45
they are a marketing group
#5 GhostWarrior25 on 08 Oct 2005 - 17:02
The page doesn't load for me.. It says that (in Firefox, it cant be found.) IE same thing...

Edit: Finally it works... Im signing up now. Thanks!
#6 EduardValencia on 08 Oct 2005 - 17:02
thanks
#7 M118LR on 08 Oct 2005 - 17:03
Does anyone no if this is ment to replace MSN e-mail ?
#8 Hell-In-A-Handbasket on 08 Oct 2005 - 17:05
what is ignia.com is this a spoof, and it wont load in firefox
#9 TimRogers on 08 Oct 2005 - 17:07
Yes, I agree about how dodgy that looks, it dosen't seem quite right. Could an Neowin staff member been hacked in a crude spam attempt?
#10 tHE LoRd ™ on 08 Oct 2005 - 17:10
Thanks. Singed up
#11 TimRogers on 08 Oct 2005 - 17:11
I'm not sure, the website for ignia seems okay...?
#12 denzilla on 08 Oct 2005 - 17:17
No way in hell I'm signing up with that!
#13 exhale on 08 Oct 2005 - 17:19
No thanks.
#14 TimRogers on 08 Oct 2005 - 17:19
I think it is real, I searched "ignia msn" on Google and it showed quite a lot of other things MSN have had on thee, but only time will tell
#15 stoidis on 08 Oct 2005 - 17:23
i think it is real too
#16 stifler6478 on 08 Oct 2005 - 17:26
guys, if you go to www.ignia.com, the site appears legit. It also appears they are previously associated with MSN by their line on the homepage.

But be skeptical if you want, frankly, i dont use my hotmail much at all for important stuff, so i can risk it.

-Spenser
#17 capeche on 08 Oct 2005 - 17:28
It looks too dangerous to me. I'll wait for the movie!
#18 dhan on 08 Oct 2005 - 17:31
looks fishy anyway my hotmail junk filter is on exclusive. so doesn't matter if they spam me.
(1 reply) #19 Airlink on 08 Oct 2005 - 17:47
Screw this. G-mail is better anyways.
Come to think of it, so is SaskTel e-mail.
#19.1 Matt on 08 Oct 2005 - 18:00
even if gmail is better it doesnt mean you should troll. its about getting a chance to make a product/service better by participating in the beta.
#20 WindowsNT on 08 Oct 2005 - 17:55
this looks way to dodgy to me

cant see anything relevent on Google

Last edited by 47532 on 08 Oct 2005 - 18:01
#21 evilpig on 08 Oct 2005 - 17:56
Haha. Sasktel sucks, they ate all my email when I used it, now I am with Gmail4Life
#22 shawnie53 on 08 Oct 2005 - 18:02
its probably legit, since http://test.msn.ignia.com/ brings you to the msn messenger website... if they only wanted your email it would bring you to their page....
#23 icecaveman on 08 Oct 2005 - 19:24
look at this http://ignia.com/Splash/Default.aspx?RedirPath=%2fDefault.aspx%3f
#24 cheekymonkey on 08 Oct 2005 - 20:12
I'm on the beta and it's well worth it already. Not perfect by any means, but along with start.com ya really get an idea where MS is heading with AJAX / gadgets / web apps etc.

More info here
#25 mad_onion on 08 Oct 2005 - 20:45
i signed up the site looks extremly fishy but i dont care about the amount of spam i get tbh lol
#26 gaurav on 08 Oct 2005 - 20:50
hmmm....still waiting for an invite....i hope they havent stopped already.
#27 ZenPirate on 08 Oct 2005 - 23:21
I've never seen Microsoft use this method of beta recruitment before, so I doubt they're using it now. Looks to me like email address harvesting.
#28 brent3000 on 08 Oct 2005 - 23:39
unless its got microsoft.com in the address im not using it...
#29 nonick on 08 Oct 2005 - 23:42
wow, you people are really paranoid.. over nothing...

just signup already.
#30 rbet on 08 Oct 2005 - 23:51
took the risk, signed up.
#31 Staind on 09 Oct 2005 - 01:11
Thanks a lot.
#32 Quellex on 09 Oct 2005 - 01:28
Just signed up as well. Arrrr
#33 j0j081 on 09 Oct 2005 - 02:26
lol oh well might as well try it. i already get too much spam in my msn inbox. a few more couldn't hurt.
#34 Gary_Player on 09 Oct 2005 - 03:01
Uhhhhhhhhh...what about those of us who are alread Mail BETA testers

They've done a fair job with it...but I never saw tthat updated build someone reported like 3 weeks ago
#35 LoneWolf3669 on 09 Oct 2005 - 04:24
hmmmm...i signed up...just curious I guess
#36 spenumatsa on 09 Oct 2005 - 06:24
Checked the company ignia and their website. Seems that they handle some work for MS and it says that on the website. Signed up any way for the beta and let me see how it goes. I will have my fingers crossed
#37 capeche on 09 Oct 2005 - 07:09
I guess the thing many people should worry about is that many people have got MS Passport junk linked in to their Hotmail account (or maybe that's what EVERYONE'S got).

Now, I may be wrong (so correct me if I am), but don't people often put sensitive financial information in their MS Passport?

That was the original reason I didn't want to use Passport as it was just too closely tied to an email account which got spam from day one. Now we've got this dodgy company doing software redirects on their site to who-knows-where (am I wrong about this?).

Minimally, it seems extreme caution is in order.
#38 war on 09 Oct 2005 - 07:16
Um.

Registrant:
Ignia, LLC
9237 NE 173rd PL
Bothell, WA 98011
US
#39 gaurav on 09 Oct 2005 - 08:30
er...??? I still didnt get an invite!!! They hate me or what?
I tried using a MSN as well as Hotmail account.
#40 Daniel on 09 Oct 2005 - 08:49
guys please! the link was given to all expertzone community websites



its legit
#41 gaurav on 09 Oct 2005 - 09:24
ok, how long did it take after clicking on submit to get your invite?
Was it sent immediately or took some time? They didnt send me, its been almost 12 hrs.
#42 Labbaipierre on 09 Oct 2005 - 10:42
Thanks a lot.
#43 Raa on 09 Oct 2005 - 12:11
Is this for real, it doesn't look legit.........
#44 xSuRgEx on 09 Oct 2005 - 14:09
i dont like this at all. so much so that i requested to be taken off the beta.

the normal hotmail is better, ms are just trying to make it look like one of there other email programs.

Gmail have the right idea.
#45 Thorpe on 09 Oct 2005 - 20:42
Does this accept @msn.com addresses?
#46 hikaru_2006 on 09 Oct 2005 - 21:35
I signed up. lol I hope i get it lol
#47 funduk on 09 Oct 2005 - 23:07
here's a newsflash people, GET A SPAM ACCOUNT, for example here's mine funduk.spam@gmail.com, this is where all the trash goes, i check it about twice a year or when i'm expecting something, who cares if it's legit!?

also, it occurs to me who cares about microsoft's crappy webmail anyways, even yahoo's garbage is better than that.
(1 reply) #48 j0j081 on 10 Oct 2005 - 03:49
FOR THOSE OF YOU complaining about not getting an invite yet, after you submit your info it clearly states you will be notified sometime in the future when the beta begins, not immediately or anytime soon.
#48.1 gaurav on 10 Oct 2005 - 07:12
seriously, it cant take more than 1 day can it?
#49 spenumatsa on 11 Oct 2005 - 05:31
I just noticed another URL to sign up for the beta. And this URL is posted on the Kahuna development team members blog.

http://www1.imagine-msn.com/minisites/hotmail/Default.aspx

#50 uceboyx on 11 Oct 2005 - 10:53
it looks a bit... dodgy though...
nvm, I don't care if I get spam, just bulk delete em
#51 beau.w on 15 Oct 2005 - 14:02
I recieved my invite + Beta ID. But where do I go to gain access? Can someone please help?

Commenting has either been disabled on this article or you are not logged in. Click here to login or register, its free!

Note: Anonymous commenting is disabled in order to keep the quality of responses to a high standard.

Advertisement (Why?)