Despite recent reports that Microsoft's latest offering is a fake scam site we have received confirmation from the giant software company that US members are able to get a copy of Vista and Office 2007 free.
Microsoft spokesperson Nick White said "this is a program run out of our DPE org (Developer & Partner Evangelism from within our US subsidiary). I wanted to let you all know that this site and its offer are indeed legitimate."
In order to get the free copies you must register for the webcasts and participate in them.
View: Microsoft - Powertogether
Microsoft spokesperson Nick White said "this is a program run out of our DPE org (Developer & Partner Evangelism from within our US subsidiary). I wanted to let you all know that this site and its offer are indeed legitimate."
In order to get the free copies you must register for the webcasts and participate in them.

-Romeo
perhaps that person had no idea of this particular promotion. ms is huge, the chances of every employee knowing about everything the company does is simply impossible.
Hell, i would like to see one of these web casts even though I am in Europe and I can't even get the free Vista, but I am not even allowed to view the webcast...
That way you don't cry when you have to go (over)spend on Vista retail.
The only thing relating to tax is the W-9 you must fill out to get BOTH gifts.
Truth is the site is verified legit through multiple sources and MS itself.
What more can you want? But way before the verification the site was
decimated and the supply of gifts certainly ran out. Who knows how many
they had to give and they don't have any reason to reveal that, not while
still generating tons of traffic for whatever reason they wanted it to begin with.
As usual, once a great deal even begins to spread around the net kiss it goodbye.
The risk-takers and early birds got in, and I'd bet not too many more.
And congrats to MS for participating in some great upgrades and deals this release.
-Rich-
NEway, it makes no difference - Microsoft does lots of these "US-only" promotions and almost never include other countries or offer anything comparable. It's pretty pathetic but we don't have much choice in the matter.
Since when has life been fair?
That's exactly my point, though... it's not true. These offers have been done for countless years, long before the EU took so much interest in Microsoft. They're not offering it to Canadians, Africans or any other nation so it is quite pathetic that you should use it as an excuse to bash the EU. Grow up.
I did the webcasts for Office 2007, I already have a copy of Vista, and have already recieved an email saying that I will recieve Office 2007 in 6-8 weeks and was never asked for my ssn or anything about tax information.
I already have Vista Ultimate (got it from connect for submitting bugs! ) and Office 2007 I only need it at my workplace.
Very kind of you.
Yeah this is the problem I'm having too.
"Greetings,
After you complete a webcast, it takes 24 hours for your completion of the offering to be validated in the system. If you completed the webcast, you will receive credit after it has been validated. However, the website will say pending until then. Please let us know if you have any other questions.
Brian J. Bean
Technical Support"
Thought it was fictional.
By all means, don't take part in this though...you'll sure show them...
WHOIS results for powertogether.com
Generated by www.DNSstuff.com
[Caching always on for search engines and InfoPath]
Registrar: MELBOURNE IT, LTD. D/B/A INTERNET NAMES WORLDWIDE
Status: ok
Dates: Created 02-oct-2006 Updated 23-oct-2006 Expires 02-oct-2007
DNS Servers: NS3.MSFT.NET NS1.MSFT.NET NS5.MSFT.NET NS2.MSFT.NET NS4.MSFT.NET
... I won't post the rest but the dude lives supposedly in London. Seems a lil fishy to me. That Ms would use this particular site for this.. Needless to say I changed me Windows Live Password asap just to play it safe.
The DNS servers for Microsoft.com and this site both point to MSFT.NET. Why is this important? Because those servers will only give you IP addresses for the domains in it's DNS database (again check Microsoft.com, it has the same DNS server as this site). In other words, if you just point a random domain to MSFT.NET name servers, it won't work (especially not work giving you an actual domain you were wishing it would). DNS servers change domain names to IP addresses pretty much, and if the domain isn't in it's database, it's not going to give you the right IP address for the website.
The site's legit. Put it to rest.
Last edited by StarSabers on 30 Nov 2006 - 03:49
It's legit, several credible people have already long since confirmed it...move along and give your conspiracy theories a rest.
Mine are all on "pending". Did you get an email or what? How long did it take after you completed all 3?
ok so free Vista for the rich americans?!?! Why didn't they give this offer to China or India? It makes no sense....
sucks that Canada is not included... but Canada sucks also... so it's kind of an even situation
2) pirating it
3) US contact delivering overseas
2) pirating it
3) US contact delivering overseas
or
4) LIE
lol
Maybe like i do: I have a USA post address, that forwards all mail to my real non-us address. Not sure it will work though, but worth a try. I'm watching these webcasts out of interest anyway.
IDC today released first projections of Windows Vista's likely impact on the existing Windows market. The market research firm believes that 90 million units will be installed next year. But only the consumer market is expected to adopt Vista almost instantly, while businesses will wait at least until 2008 for a broad deployment.
http://www.tgdaily.com/2006/11/29/vista_shipment_estimate/
Yes..they should be able to afford to give away a 'few' copies....lol
Because they would propably get sued for it..
Because they would propably get sued for it..
It would probably happen like that too.
Yes, EU gets shafted as usual
Nah, just tried it, and it won't let me - Never mind !