microsoft
Report a problem

Minimise-Me From MSN.

HappyAndyK   on 21 July 2008 - 11:15 · 12 comments & 7881 views

Advertisement (Why?)
Microsoft has launched a website for its Live Messenger users : Minimise-Me. WLM users can avail of this new service to build their own emoticons & characters.

Windows Live Messenger users can even create a mini version of themselves. One can also play around with one's own facial characters like the eyes, eyebrows, mouth, nose, etc. There is also a Celebrity Gallery, where you can customise the images, with the click of an Edit button.

News Source: WinVistaClub

Post a comment · Send to friend Comments · There are 12 additional comments
(1 reply) #1 hotdog963al on 21 Jul 2008 - 12:12
...Fail
#1.1 +vlsi0n on 22 Jul 2008 - 01:01
I forgot why you clicked to visit then...
#2 guruparan on 21 Jul 2008 - 12:12
Waiting for these kind of online emoticon creation for a very long time!!! - cool...
(1 reply) #3 bmaher on 21 Jul 2008 - 12:49
Looking at the Whois data, I'd say it's *not* registered by Microsoft - http://who.is/whois-com/ip-address/minimise-me.com/

Registrar: GROUP NBT PLC AKA NETNAMES
Whois Server: whois.netnames.com
Referral URL: http://www.netnames.com

Name Servers:
ns1.netnames.net

Microsoft use Tucows and ns1.msft.net.
#3.1 Darran on 21 Jul 2008 - 13:50
Maybe MSN uk opted to protect their Whois data, like Digg or Revision3 do.
#4 Darran on 21 Jul 2008 - 13:48
I appreciate the service and I would use it if I was still using Windows Live Messenger (sorry, mac user here, Adium). But seriously, why? I guess this is just a piece of marketing for the service?

Oh and "MSN on Windows Live" ?? Pick a side! Jeez.
#5 ironsight2000 on 21 Jul 2008 - 14:40
if it was legit then Microsoft would have their whois becuase they have it for Microsoft.com also minimise-me.com is registered to some one in the UK not the US
(3 replies) #6 _X_ on 21 Jul 2008 - 17:49

...Amy Winehouse, David Beckham and Boris Johnson? haha
Don't know who the first one is!
#6.1 Orry Verducci on 21 Jul 2008 - 18:36
(_X_ said @ #6)
...Amy Winehouse, David Beckham and Boris Johnson? haha
Don't know who the first one is!

The first one is Russel Brand. It all seems legit to me, just that it is part of MSN UK, not the US site, therefore the whois isn't the same as the US sites.
#6.2 LinDog on 22 Jul 2008 - 02:15
Wouldn't it require Silverlight since it is from MS?
#6.3 Airlink on 22 Jul 2008 - 02:20
(LinDog said @ #6.2)
Wouldn't it require Silverlight since it is from MS?

No, not even Microsoft uses Silverlight.
#7 exotoxic on 21 Jul 2008 - 18:35

Commenting has either been disabled on this article or you are not logged in. Click here to login or register, its free!

Note: Anonymous commenting is disabled in order to keep the quality of responses to a high standard.

Advertisement (Why?)