Microsoft preps four Office patches

Microsoft is planning at least four security updates this week in its Patch Tuesday release for March. The security update will address four vulnerabilities, all of which have been given Microsoft's highest alert level of 'critical'. Each vulnerability could be exploited by an attacker to remotely execute code on a target system.

The four security bulletins address vulnerabilities in Microsoft Office. While Microsoft did not offer specifics on each vulnerability, Office 2000, 2002, 2003 and 2007 are among the versions receiving critical fixes. Microsoft Office Web Components 2000 will also receive a critical update.

One of the updates will address a critical vulnerability in Office 2007, the most recent Windows version of Office. Mac users will also receive a security update this month. Microsoft plans to issue an update for the 2004 and 2008 versions of Office for Mac, each rated 'important.' The monthly security update will be published on 11 March.

News Source: vnunet.com

Report a problem with article
Previous Story

Wal-Mart ends test run for Linux-based computers in stores

Next Story

Windows Live FolderShare Beta Refresh for PC-to-PC Sync

11 Comments

Commenting is disabled on this article.

I certainly hope there are some bug fixes coming for Office 2008. As it sits now, it's the biggest piece of **** when you're using Expose and/or Spaces - especially when in Notebook View.

The time zone has nothing to do with it. The patch Tuesday updates are always posted just after 10am US Pacific / 1pm US Eastern / 6pm UK Time / 7pm Central Europe.

Hope that gets my point across ?