Yahoo offers three free months of Flickr Pro

Even though Instagram now says they have no plans to sell photos uploaded by its users, many of those same users are not suspicious of Instagram's motives after it tried to push changes to its Terms of Service earlier this week. Instagram has now said they have reverted their Terms of Service back to their original form.

Now a well known photo and video sharing service, Flickr, is apparently trying to bring in new users to its fold, and in this case their timing could not be better. Flickr's owners at Yahoo have launched a holiday gift for both new and current users that gives them three free months of Flickr Pro.

Flickr Pro normally costs $25 a year, which means this free offer is worth about $6.25. The Pro version allows users to upload an "unlimited" amount of photos and videos. Viewing for both photos and videos is also unlimited and photos can be placed in 60 different groups.

Of course, "unlimited" is actually a relative term in this case. Yahoo admits that they in fact do monitor Flickr in case someone is using their service too much and adds that does impose limits on "... the number and size of photos allowed from an account within a given timeframe." So if you use this special offer, don't go too crazy.

The free three month offer ends on January 4th. It will be interesting to see if any current Instagram users jump ship and use Flickr instead.

Source: Flickr | Image via Yahoo

Report a problem with article
Previous Story

Wordament is first iOS game with Xbox Live Achievements

Next Story

Firefox 64-bit Windows development resumed

9 Comments

Commenting is disabled on this article.

Weee but I still do not want the pro features. They were not all that great. Sure getting views and comments is an ego boost but now i can just upload to box or dropbox and share that way.

They are good at it. First they'll give you unlimited free space and later ask for money (after 3 months). Now you're mandated to pay them 'cause if you don't they'll remove your files. Flickr did this to me before.
I'm not going to fall in these traps again.

Use this scheme only if you are ready to pay them. The scheme will get you a discount of 3 months. That's it.

ShaggingComa said,
They are good at it. First they'll give you unlimited free space and later ask for money (after 3 months). Now you're mandated to pay them 'cause if you don't they'll remove your files. Flickr did this to me before.
I'm not going to fall in these traps again.

Use this scheme only if you are ready to pay them. The scheme will get you a discount of 3 months. That's it.

"The scheme will get you a discount of 3 months"

And that is EXACTLY what the article says too!

Yea that what the article states. 3 months free. LOL. then you need to pay. They do not delete your files. they are just not accessible. I have not paid for 2 years the pro but they keeps saying i can jump back on and my files and comments, and view stats are still there. I think Flickr has a better community features than 500px.

Oh God no...

Flickr has always been a pro and semi-pro centric community, now they are mixing in the filter-via-app stuff and advertise it as Instagram competitor.

Good Lord...

GS:mac

I beg to differ on the "So if you use this special offer, don't go too crazy." comment. Use the special offer, its free and you'll find out where your limits are before paying and finding out its not really what you expected, then having your expected service reduced even more with restrictions.

In my opinion if they, as big as they are too, can't tell you exactly what amounts to too much, then you shouldn't really be using it if you think you might even go a smidging over their virtual limitations.
I don't want to know, and won't pay for their maybe service.

webeagle12 said,
lol wut?

Don't worry your little head about it, you're not Pro enough.
but... just in case you are... I'll help you along a bit.


If you were a professional wanting to make use of their 'Pro' service, you might be wanting to put a picture that you expect to get say, 10,000 hits a week... so you sign up and after 3 weeks, you've had your expected 30k hits and then.. *poof* your account is in restricted mode and you're suddenly limited to 5k hits a week. That means your expected extra 5k visitors will simply be told you're using a crappy service for hosting your files on and that you've exceeded your limit (of unknown values and calculations.

Now, the limits flickr set, might be down hits, it might be down to bandwidth usage, could even be down to what box your account is hosted on in the server farm, or a combination but what ever the reason, flickr don't have the confidence to tell you what your limits are and as a result, any Pro user should stay away from it for anything productive if they want to produce any professional results.