Nintendo Directs are making a return with a 50-minute presentation

It's been a long time coming, but Nintendo is finally ready to bring back its full-format Direct presentations, starting with a new one tomorrow, February 17. The presentation will focus on games that are already known about - such as Super Smash Bros. Ultimate, which has been getting new DLC content since its launch - as well as upcoming games.

Now, Nintendo Directs are nothing new, and you may be thinking there have been other presentations throughout 2020, but those were a bit different. Nintendo uses many different names for its different presentations, and a full-fledged Nintendo Direct hasn't been shown off since September 2019. Since then, we've seen a Nintendo Direct Mini in March of last year, a series of Partner Showcase presentations in the second half of 2020, Indie World presentations, and Directs focused on specific games and franchises, but fans have been clamoring for a return to the larger format of traditional Directs.

In addition to returning to the general Direct branding, the presentation will be one of the longest presentations the company has shown off, with a promised 50-minute length. Its E3 2019 presentation lasted 42 minutes, and the longest show we've seen from the company in the Switch era was a roughly 46-minute show in September 2017.

Details of what will be revealed are, of course, still unknown, but there's no shortage of options. Nintendo has many highly-anticipated titles in the works, including a sequel to The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild, Metroid Prime 4, and Bayonetta 3, as well as many rumored games. If you're interested, the presentation will air at 2PM PT/5PM ET/10PM GMT tomorrow, and you can catch it on Nintendo's YouTube channel.

Report a problem with article
Next Article

Bitcoin has passed $50,000 for the first time

Previous Article

Dirt 5, Pillars of Eternity 2, Code Vein, and more head to Xbox Game Pass