[CentOS] Headless VNC problem

Aldur82

I'm going to say it right away...I am a linux noob, but thought it was about time I started to learn.

Here is the current setup:

I have CentOS 5.6 installed and working fine.

I have VNC Server set up as a headless box (not sure if that is the correct term...I've got it so I remote in and login like I would if I was sat in front of the computer, instead of into a particular desktop like a normal VNC connection).

The problem I am having is that when I log in through VNC it's using a temporary .Xauthority file instead of the one located in my home directory. This is causing me to have to use 'xhost +localhost' if I want to run any GUI admin functions (like I said, still a noob so I sometimes use the GUI application installer so I can read about software to see if it's what I want).

I should point out when I ssh into the machine, it uses the correct .Xauthority file.

The way I set up the VNC server was by following the guide on this page from "Configuring Xinetd for VNC".

I know enough about linux to not just blindly run scripts, and you learn by doing so I manually went through and set everything up.

Unfortunately I don't know enough to distinguish distro specific things from guides like this, so by blindly following the guide I may have used the wrong file locations in places without realising.

One thing I did change from the guide was the 'AllowRemoteRoot=true' to 'AllowRemoteRoot=false'...but that was yesterday after I became aware of this problem.

If anyone has any experience in successfully setting up this kind of VNC access I would appreciate any help.

ichi

Try setting the XAUTHORITY environment variable before launching the vncserver (to ${HOME}/.Xauthority or whatever). You can also check the vncserver startup script and find where it's looking for the .Xauthority file.

Aldur82