The Android Update Process Frustrations

I recently bought a Galaxy note 10.1 (wifi only). One of the selling points for me was that it was reported it was to be updated with Jellybean.

Now I LOVE it, I think it's a great piece of tech and use it regularly, however the update I read about only applies to to the 3G+Wifi version :/ with "No News" about the the 3G only version :argh:

While I understand some of the reasons for the complications(like every company's desire to add their own bells and whistles) it amazes me how complicated it really is.

Now I'm not a developer but shouldn't this be the number 1 thing Android should be working on? (maybe it is)

Could a developer say whether it is possible to develop the Android platform where the "Bells and Whistles" that are added, are some sort of 'add on' for the vanilla android? It really is the biggest drawback of this platform (which I love).

A little frustrated, though I know I should have looked deeper into model variances, it just didn't occur to me that the level at which updates performed were so granular.

Also would anyone recommend doing it manually? :book:

</frustration>

Edit:

This Article underlines my points

I'm sorry, I'm confused.

There are only 2 versions of the tablet. One is Wifi only and the other is 3G+Wifi. Both version have Wifi. So I'm not sure why you can't upgrade?

Edit: After researching and deciphering what you said, it looks like only the Wifi+3G version (model N8000) has an update to JellyBean available. The N8010 (the Wifi only version) doesn't have an update yet.

There are many reasons why the updates wouldn't work with the other model(s). Mainly hardware. That being said, if the N8000 has an update, the N8010 isn't far behind.

If you're still impatient, I would recommend looking at XDA for more information on custom ROMs: http://forum.xda-developers.com/forumdisplay.php?f=1735