Hard Drive failed with 500gb of data needing retrieved.

Hello all!

Before I get to my question I want to state this up front as hopefully it'll be useful in any answers to my question. I'm a small computer business owner so I'm far removed from a noob as I've been doing tech work for 20 years now. Although I'm never afraid to admit when something has me pondering and seeking the advice of others. :)

Onto my question...

I have a 500GB hard drive (Seagate SATA) that just recently failed on me and has about 400GB worth of data that needs recovering. It's not mission critical data, but data that I would like to have back in the structure I have it stored in. The data is mostly AVI, EXE, drivers, pdf service manuals for many computers/printers, etc.

Anyway, the drive stopped being recognized in the BIOS and there was a very faint, but slight 'knock' on the inside of the drive. No where near as bad as the broken read/write arms in those mechanical failures. I figured that with the drive not being recognized in the BIOS, the PCB board might have went bad on the drive so I purchased a used/working one on eBay of identical model #'s and specs.

I installed that board and while it is now recognized in the BIOS, it gets recognized very slowly or on a few boots, not recognized at all. My goal is to either get the drive to be recognized on some level to get the data off of it. Either using Windows explorer (if the file system isn't shot) or using software like GetDataBack even if the partitions are toast.

But the main problem at the moment seems to be getting the drive to be recognized in a stable fashion in the BIOS so it can be recognized in Windows.

Does anyone have any suggestions, tips, tricks, etc?

The times that BIOS doesn't see it, Windows will never see it.

It sounds like a mechanical failure inside the drive itself - so you might be out of luck.