First smartphone... need a lot of advice.

Up until now I've managed just fine with a little feature phone on pay as you go, with me doing little more than texting a couple of overseas friends once in a while and phoning family. I just haven't seen the point in getting a smartphone. However, as a self-employed web developer I am now finding the need for a smartphone. After a period of illness that saw my work take second place this year, I am now looking to "relaunch" it with a more aggressive approach towards keeping client websites up with the latest trends and technology. Although I personally haven't seen the need for a smartphone I think it is time for me to get with the times. Who knows, maybe I'll find some apps that will be incredibly useful in the day-to-day running of my business - I'd actually prefer that to be the case as it is a significant investment for me.

I have two main things I've got questions about so I'll split this up accordingly. I'll also bold the questions in case you don't want to read my rambling. I am ideally looking to get this sorted before Christmas so quick responses would be much appreciated. :)

The Contract

First things first, I have never had a phone on contract, but I know I am going to have to now. Above anything else I couldn't afford any of these things outright. Basically, I want to get the best device and contract deal I can within my budget, which is anything under ?30/month. Lower the better.