Anyone a SharePoint site guru?

Question

I'm a newbie at SharePoint and am trying to decide if it is suitable out of the box for an application I'm working on.

I have experience in Access and relational database design in general. This seems like a stripped down approach to that.

Hoping someone who is a SharePoint guru can help answer some questions for me and perhaps help me make some design/structure decisions.

I'm trying to make an Inventory tracking system. A component of this tracking system is a calibration log.

First question I have is in regards to "Lists". If I have a column type of "Choice (menu to choose from)" with the added "Allow 'Fill-in' choices" selected, is there a way to have an option that was filled in by the user added to the drop down list?

What if I want the Choices to be based on a column in another list (in order to create a relationship with an item in another table)?

I could see a list of Devices with some Choice selections (like Manufacturer) where I want to be able to link the Manufacturer to another list.

Am I just abusing the hell out of what the simplicity of a list should be and trying to make this into a relational database when it is not? Thanks.

4 answers to this question

First question I have is in regards to "Lists". If I have a column type of "Choice (menu to choose from)" with the added "Allow 'Fill-in' choices" selected, is there a way to have an option that was filled in by the user added to the drop down list?

Yes.

What if I want the Choices to be based on a column in another list (in order to create a relationship with an item in another table)?

Yes you can use lookup columns. Max (recommended by MSFT) of 8 per list.

I could see a list of Devices with some Choice selections (like Manufacturer) where I want to be able to link the Manufacturer to another list.

Not sure what you mean by this. I think you mean a parent/child type scenario which if so then yes.