Thinking about ditching Windows on my laptop....

But having reservations 

So, I work as a Windows Systems Administrator. I have a Linux guy here at work who's been instrumental in "showing me the light," and so far I am liking what I am seeing, everything from the ease of VPN and SSH to things like Sickbeard for TV shows on a home Ubuntu server (he set that up too). But I am considering doing something I have never done before....taking Windows off of my gaming laptop and just putting Linux on. However, there are some reservations I am having and I have a few questions:

I am currently dual booting Windows 8.1 and Ubuntu 12.04 on this laptop. The problem is, if I truly want to learn Linux, I really want to put a single OS on and not have to "run back" to Windows when I can't do something.

1. This is a MSI laptop with hybrid graphics (Intel and Nvidia). Now, my Linux guy set the dual boot portion of Ubuntu up and got this to work but I want to do this on my own. Where can I start to research this?
  2. Can I get Steam to work on Linux Mint? I've been playing around with Mint with Cinnamon and absolutely love the desktop. But, I also want to game as I do have some Linux Steam games. Can Steam work on Mint?
  3. How reliable is Wine for Windows apps or is there another product? Not saying I would need Wine, but would like to know if Wine has gotten better over the years and is more compatible with other apps
  4. Finally, does anyone have any good guides or websites for people like me who are Windows fanatics but would like to read up on other people's experiences and suggestions when trying to adapt to Linux?

I know enough to be dangerous, but I feel this might be the best way for me to pick up Linux more so than a VM or a dual boot. I generally game on my desktop, but there are times that I would be mobile and I think I can benefit from learning more about Linux if I just had it ONLY on my laptop.

Thanks,

Brian