I'm really getting frustrated.

Question

Hello everyone.

I have been trying to learn how to program in multiple programming languages (Python, Ruby, PHP, Visual Basic, C++, JAVA, C#, C.) but I have picked up none of these languages. I have been looking for books for quite a long time, I've been trying hands-on books, I've been trying For Dummies books, Heads First, etc, but I haven't gotten further than writing Hello World.

What my major issue is that I do not understand any of the technical terms, even after Googling them. What happens is that I get a book on C# for example and I pick it up for a little bit, then something that I don't understand comes up and I'm practically forced to give up.

I'm an IT student and I would like to have some programming experience before next year. I am really interested in C#, C++, C and JAVA but I have not found anyone or anything that can help me, even after taking a course in Visual Basic (Which I miserably failed).

Could anybody show the ropes to an absolute idiot? I'm just looking for definitions on all the technical stuff which is in English, not in technical terms.

Thank you so much.

ShellBox.

To be honest there's no way you'll be able to learn programming from a forum. There's certainly no point in going into the nitty gritty. That's what a structured learning resource is for. So, as a general set of tips, here's what worked for me:

Pick a language, or have one picked for you. Maybe start with the one that your school will be using. Mine came with the computer I had as a kid: BASIC. It's a language that no one uses anymore. It's certainly a language that I can't use professionally, or even productively for my own projects. However, it doesn't matter much which language you start with. You will learn many more later on, and it gets easier to pick up new languages after the first.

Get some learning resources. Books. Lecture videos from online courses. There are plenty of free ones too.