• Sign in to Neowin Faster!

    Create an account on Neowin to contribute and support the site.

Sign in to follow this  

[Books] Any Adult Books Like Hunger Games, Battle Royale?

Recommended Posts

Sir Topham Hatt    275

A family member recommended The Hunger Games series and from the off I was hooked.  It was a good theme I enjoy to read and read all three books pretty quick.

 

Someone has suggested The Maze Runner but I don't know if it's a bit too teen-fiction for what I am looking for.  A friend of mine said they were surprised I wasn't into the Discworld series and I did try but simply couldn't get into them.

 

Can anyone recommend any books like The Hunger Games, Battle Royale or anything similar?

 

Thanks :D

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Skiver    1,960

I've not read the Hunger games so I can't do a direct comparison but I've read The Maze Runner, Scorch Trials and Death Cure and thoroughly enjoyed them all. You can sense a bit of a young adult style of writing in them but the story had me hooked that I'm now reading the prequel to it all (The Kill Order).

 

I'm almost done with this one and whilst I've enjoyed it and without spoiling it, it so far hasn't done what I expected it to do and its running out of time to do what I'd like any justice.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Skiver    1,960

I thought I would come back here, now I am half way through the Hunger games I feel I can do a slightly better comparison. IMO The Hunger Games so far actually reads a little more teen-fiction than the Maze Runner did. I'm enjoying it but I would definitely recommend the Maze Runner if you enjoyed this.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
DocM    16,657

Octavia Butler?s Parable of the Sower and Parable of Talents

Margaret Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale

Both dystopian with female leads, and definitely not happy-happy, joy-joy.

The Handmaid's Tale was made into a 1990 film starring Natasha Richardson, Robert Duvall, Faye Dunaway and Elizabeth McGovern.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Sir Topham Hatt    275

Thanks :D

I will look into these for sure :)

 

Maze Runner was coincidently on my list - I should be getting [the trilogy] for Christmas.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
HawkMan    5,232

Read the Wheel of Time series and you'll be busy a while.

 

also any books by Peter F. Hamilton. though be warned they're massive and usually comes in trilogies. they are all, sorta, space SciFi though (the void series is a half exception, but you can't say to much about it without spoiling).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Skiver    1,960

Maze Runner- good choice. Wait for The Fever Code in 2016

YES!! Thank you for bringing this to my attention, I was slightly disappointed with the Kill Order, I would have liked to see more about Thomas and Teresa but I would "hope" that he might add something in Fever Code about their time working with WICKED etc.

 

I'm just about to finish the last Hunger games book and plan to move on to divergent series next so I'll let you know once I'm part way in.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
HawkMan    5,232

Maze runner was a series I finished just to see how it ended since I started it, the first book was decent but then it was all downhill. The ending was predictable and extremely disappointing.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Skiver    1,960

Maze runner was a series I finished just to see how it ended since I started it, the first book was decent but then it was all downhill. The ending was predictable and extremely disappointing.

 

I'd probably agree with you on the last book, the ending was a little unimaginative, The Kill Order (a prequel) was pretty good, but although it was setting up for the Maze Runner, it felt very very distant.

 

Looking back at this, I can't believe I didn't say it first time round...

 

Harry Potter series < depending on how quick/often you read, it will keep you busy for a long time and if you are even the smallest fan of the Movies you'll love the books. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
BooBerry    2,671

I've not read the Hunger games so I can't do a direct comparison but I've read The Maze Runner, Scorch Trials and Death Cure and thoroughly enjoyed them all. You can sense a bit of a young adult style of writing in them but the story had me hooked that I'm now reading the prequel to it all (The Kill Order).

 

I'm almost done with this one and whilst I've enjoyed it and without spoiling it, it so far hasn't done what I expected it to do and its running out of time to do what I'd like any justice.

 

Great lists threre.

Thanks

  • Like 7

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Skiver    1,960

Read the Wheel of Time series and you'll be busy a while.

 

also any books by Peter F. Hamilton. though be warned they're massive and usually comes in trilogies. they are all, sorta, space SciFi though (the void series is a half exception, but you can't say to much about it without spoiling).

 

Is it worth reading them in order of release? Does the Greg Mandel Trilogy link into Confederation Universe etc? If not, is there any series in particular you would recommend? 

 

I need a new book/series to get into after just finishing the Divergent series and the longer the better :)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
HawkMan    5,232

Is it worth reading them in order of release? Does the Greg Mandel Trilogy link into Confederation Universe etc? If not, is there any series in particular you would recommend? 

 

I need a new book/series to get into after just finishing the Divergent series and the longer the better :)

I don't think the Mandel trilogy links to the confed universe(that's the nano flower one isn't it ?), but I'm not actually sure, I haven't read them in a while, I just recently read the latest Non trilogy book(of course it's big enough that anyone else would have released it as a trilogy) and I have the first book of his new trilogy or whatever but haven't started it yet.  it kind of confuses me since it's a book that sort of happens inbetween what happens in the void trilogy, and is also about the void and we already know what happens to the void... I'll have to find it in my moving boxes and read it an see what it's really about, I  have yet to be disappointed by a Hamilton book :)

 

and yeha, in general I think I would reccomend reading them in order, though some of the trilogies in the same universe are so far apart you can safely not do it, but they do refer and even use characters from the previous trilogy(he really likes his long life/eternal life treatment/technologies :))

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Skiver    1,960

I don't think the Mandel trilogy links to the confed universe(that's the nano flower one isn't it ?), but I'm not actually sure, I haven't read them in a while, I just recently read the latest Non trilogy book(of course it's big enough that anyone else would have released it as a trilogy) and I have the first book of his new trilogy or whatever but haven't started it yet.  it kind of confuses me since it's a book that sort of happens inbetween what happens in the void trilogy, and is also about the void and we already know what happens to the void... I'll have to find it in my moving boxes and read it an see what it's really about, I  have yet to be disappointed by a Hamilton book :)

 

and yeha, in general I think I would reccomend reading them in order, though some of the trilogies in the same universe are so far apart you can safely not do it, but they do refer and even use characters from the previous trilogy(he really likes his long life/eternal life treatment/technologies :))

 

Just taking this from Wiki...

 

I'll start with the Madel and see how it goes, they seem a bit shorter than others also.

 

Greg Mandel trilogy (1993

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Lant    70

If you liked Maze Runner (wasn't a fan TBH) and like dystopia, then the Partials Sequence by Dan Wells might be up your street.

 

On a different sort of genre, His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman, the Old Kingdom series by Garth Nix and the Mortal Engines Quartet by Philip Reeve are incredible.

All three are more adventure stories with a growing up theme. They're different in style and theme to the hunger games though, but have great concepts for the world the story is set in.

Definitely suitable for adults and have a compelling story, though I might have been influence by reading them when younger.

 

Ready Player One would also definitely fit with Hunger Games. Depends how much you like 80s pop culture and technology for this one though.

 

More book recommendations depend on what you want out of them. Did you like the action of the book (perhaps other books like the Alex Rider (spy) series, or more adult thrillers), the mythology (other dystopia novels are worth looking at then), character progression (the books (other than Partials) I've listed are great at that) or something else?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
+Jimmy1    10,444

If you liked Maze Runner (wasn't a fan TBH) and like dystopia, then the Partials Sequence by Dan Wells might be up your street.

 

On a different sort of genre, His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman, the Old Kingdom series by Garth Nix and the Mortal Engines Quartet by Philip Reeve are incredible.

All three are more adventure stories with a growing up theme. They're different in style and theme to the hunger games though, but have great concepts for the world the story is set in.

Definitely suitable for adults and have a compelling story, though I might have been influence by reading them when younger.

 

Ready Player One would also definitely fit with Hunger Games. Depends how much you like 80s pop culture and technology for this one though.

 

More book recommendations depend on what you want out of them. Did you like the action of the book (perhaps other books like the Alex Rider (spy) series, or more adult thrillers), the mythology (other dystopia novels are worth looking at then), character progression (the books (other than Partials) I've listed are great at that) or something else?

 

 

I am going to pick up Ready Player One soon.  Sounds great.

 

I liked Daniel Saurez

Daemon and FreedomTM

They are techno-thrillers, with hacking, banking, rfid, drones, video game etc... influences. future ai and botnet taking control over the worlds corporations.

 

have you read them? can you recommend more stuff like that?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
HawkMan    5,232

Just taking this from Wiki...

 

I'll start with the Madel and see how it goes, they seem a bit shorter than others also.

 

Greg Mandel trilogy (1993

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Skiver    1,960

Yeah the mandel books where shorter and more "easy" reads. they're good though and I wish there was more of them. 

 

outside of them I think he currently has three universe going. the confed ones. though I think there's only one of the universe where he actually continued writing multiple series in. 

 

I know you said Easy reads (and they are) but when you've came from a string of Harry Potter, Maze Runner, Hunger Games, Divergent - they don't seem so easy at first!

Loved them though, as I say going from what I had been reading to this was a big step and I struggled to start with as it setup the universe the books were set in. Once it got going through I am now wishing there was more.

 

I've got books 2 and 3 out of the void series in my list (book 1 doesn't seem to be on Audible :( ) but I think I'm going to read Jurassic Park next as something a little different.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
+therealDamien    589

Hunger Games an adult book?

 

 

not really.

 

unless your calling teens adults.

 

 

 

all the books shiver mentioned including Hunger Games are teen books.

 

same category as twilight series.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

just saying................

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.