ESXi 5.5 - My Experience (and some questions)

Hi Guys

(because this has turned out to be quite long i have highlighted my questions in red and bold)

I have played with virtualbox and such in the past so i am not totally new to Virtual Machines

I have never used ESXi before though

I have been speaking to Skiver about it recently and thought why not give it a shot.

So i removed all of my drives form my HP Gen7 Microserver and put in 1 500gb Hard Drive (i removed them mainly so i did not muck up and wipe them)

So i installed ESXi 5.5 which was painless and once installed set it on a static IP (192.168.0.65)

I use my server for a few things

• Anything i download from my laptop goes onto the server to save downloading to my SSD
  • I have a few drives on there that hold photos, videos, tv shows etc
  • I also use it to backup to 

So i created my first vm, since i am just playing just now (before i went to bed i switched my normal HDD back in so the server was usable again) i just accepted most of the defaults, only thing i changed was the size of the disk for the VM to 40gb

I installed Debian Wheezy on it as i am very familiar with this and the server currently runs Debian Jessie so was happy with it

once it was installed (no updates needed as was a netinstall) i then plugged in my other two physical drive back into the server that has my photos and videos on it.

It took me age to work out how to add these drives, when trying to add it through vSphere it kept saying it would format them (which i did not want), I finally worked out i could add them using the command line in ESXi, so i SSH'd into the server and added the drive :)

I then added the drive into the fstab in the debian VM and rebooted and it mounted fine and i could access it as i had previously

I then set about installing Plex Media Server. installed it as i had done a few times on my normal system and it installed and confirmed was working as it should.