Ubuntu GNOME - Corrupted screen at boot...HELP!

The Dark Knight

I'm having some trouble with Ubuntu. Kindly note that I am a newbie to Linux. This is my hardware setup:

MSI AM1 motherboard: https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/AM1I.html#hero-overview

Processor: AMD Sempron APU 2650 1.45 Ghz with Radeon R3 graphics

RAM: Corsair 4 GB DDR3 (single stick)

I have installed Ubuntu GNOME 16.04 after a few tries. The issue I faced during installation and the one I face during boot is a corrupted display. I have to turn off / reset the system multiple times before it works. I have updated it fully after installation, and also installed a proprietary AMD driver that was under the Additional Drivers section.

I get the GRUB boot screen below:

IMG_20160703_134659.jpg

After I select it, I get this:

IMG_20160703_134713.jpg

I have to hard reset / turn off the system multiple times before it boots.

Please help!! :cry::cry:

The Dark Knight

Just not going past the corrupted display now.....tried 5 times!

The Dark Knight

79 views and no replies? Please help guys...

Barney T.

It looks like a video driver incompatibility. I would reboot until you get a usable system up and running, back up all of your important data then look for another video driver (either the Ubuntu suggested or another version of the proprietary driver). You might also want to try different versions of either Ubuntu or a variation (like Mint or Debian) in a Live CD to see if the video works better with one of them. As another alternative, you could try Xubuntu for a different desktop since it uses less resources than Gnome or KDE.

Hope that this helps!

The Dark Knight
1 minute ago, Barney T. said: