Trouble with Kali

+xrobwx71

I installed Kali 2016.1 64bit in a dual boot scenario with Win 10 Pro 64bit. It was working great for a few hours as I booted into Kali, I surfed, I executed a few apps, checked out the calculator, etc etc. I chose restart went back to Win 10 and did not have internet, reset net adapter and internet works. Surfed a bit, decided to go back to Kali, booted to Kali fine surfed, etc... this happened about 6 times or so then I got this trying to boot into Kali: kali_issue.jpg

I can boot into WIn 10 just fine. I am new to Linux so...... Thanks!

Unobscured Vision

Wow. Did you reboot a couple of times and the problem occur each time? If it did, then either GRUB is borked or the drive you installed to is failing.

• Like 1
+xrobwx71
34 minutes ago, Unobscured Vision said:

Wow. Did you reboot a couple of times and the problem occur each time? If it did, then either GRUB is borked or the drive you installed to is failing.

thanks for the reply.

Yes, I did reboot a couple of times in order to go back and forth between Kali and Win 10. This looks to be do able from my internet research. And as I said, it did work the first few times. Why would GRUB be borked? I didn't do anything but surf and open a few programs in Kali. I didn't even open terminal yet at this point.Is Win 10 doing somthing to GRUB?  The drive is fine as far as I can tell as I am typing this on the Win Pro install from said drive. The drive is only about 5 months old. Yes, I know you can get a "new" bad drive but I've extensively tested this drive with use: Gaming, Gimp, etc for 6+months. 

I have been peeking around at linux for a few years and decided to give it a go. I messed with Ubuntu for a month or so  about 3 years ago. I'm thinking maybe I should just stick with Windows for now.

• Like 1
Unobscured Vision

Shouldn't be possible for Windows to be doing anything like Hibernating the drive. Should also not be possible for Windows to do anything to GRUB either.