Linux Mint Dual Boot Noob Questions

hello all,

I have decided to take the plunge and wipe my system and reinstall in a dual boot config, However, I have not done this before. 

so my question is, what is a good enough amount of space to give to Linux Mint please?

The other thing is, should i go with x64 or 32bit Linux?  17 or 18?  Cinnamon or Mate?

I don't think i will be doing much that requires 64bit in Linux, unlike windows which i do play the odd game on

I have a brand new 500gb Samsung evo and I will be installing Win 7 Pro SP1 X64, and Linux Mint.

finally, Do i let the mint installer size the partition or is it best to install windows, then split that into 2 while in windows please,

then boot off the mint disc?

Cheers

:)

Steve

I always do 20GB for the install partition, and a 4GB swap.  I do not know if this is best, as I am a noob as well.

Hopefully, you will find more to like than I have in the 20x I have install linux.

Once I get everything set up the way I like it, I always have a moment where I think, "ok, now what ?" -and go back to windows.

• 2 weeks later...

it depends on how much your going to use it

my dual bot is on a 500gb SSD

i have 200Gb for windows and 300Gb for Linux :)

my root partition is 50gb and home is 250 :)

• 1 month later...

Okay not much going on in this forum, I realize I'm very late to answer this post, but perhaps someone else can use the answer or it can be used for a reinstall sometime in the future.

First get the 64 bit version, unless you have a very good reason not to, 64 is the future, and 32 is being phased out, at least for desktops.

With regard to desktop environment, that is entirely a matter of taste, they all do everything. I use standard Ubuntu with Unity, does everything, no need to look any further for my needs.