Are coding bootcamp schools worth it?

Question

sinetheo

I was reading slashdot.org and they had a story on coding bootcamps. I also found this link on rated coding boot camps. I am wondering if anyone on either side of hiring process has experience working with these? Are they a joke and a non starter for any serious junior level programmer or were they a resource? Did anyone attending one felt prepared for the real world and was able to find a job? Did anyone who has hired a graduate had good or bad luck?

Here is my background. I have  years of experience providing desktop support and light Active Directory and Exchange support work. I have a bachelors of business administration with 16 credits in coding and to this day can do simplistic things like control statements, nested data structures, and object oriented programming but that is it. I am not trying to get a $100K a year job or consider myself an expert after a freaking 24 week program. I just want a junior level position where I can combine my existing knowledge with something new and work my way up. 

These are expensive and will come at a great burden. I do not want to waste my time if I do not get a result and just go further in debt and end up having now a hole on my resume.

5 answers to this question

Above The Gods

It's worth it if you already have a high IQ and/or have experience. If you do, make sure to choose the one with the best job placement. If you're dedicated, you can actually get a $100k job in a few years or so if you're living in NYC or SF.

FloatingFatMan

If you're brand new to programming, don't bother.  You cannot learn to code in a 7/14/28 day crash course. At best, you'll learn your way around Visual Studio.

If you're returning to programming after a break, then go for it. They'll make a handy refresher course.