Want Beef Up My Laptop! Where to start?

So like the topic says, I'm new to PC gaming, and I want to beef up my laptop, and learn the ropes of upgrading computers for gaming performance.  More than any other game, I will be picking up World of Warcraft for the first time in a while. However, I also plan to play the occasional steam -based game such as Assassins Creed, Fallout, and maybe even some simulation games like Civilization and Total War. 

I decided to ease into it and get what seemed to be a mid level gaming laptop: https://www.bestbuy.com/site/dell-inspiron-15-6-laptop-intel-core-i5-8gb-memory-nvidia-geforce-gtx-1050-ti-256gb-solid-state-drive-black/5872507.p?skuId=5872507

Current Benchmark: http://www.userbenchmark.com/UserRun/6308809

I did a ton of benchmark comparisons when I was looking to buy, and decided this seemed to be a great laptop for beginning gaming, at a good price. My only complaint is that it still seems to be a little choppy when I play most of these games. 

Anyways, my main question for you all is; What should be my first upgrade, that would make the biggest difference in my experience with these sorts of games? I have toyed with the idea of investing into a new stick of ram, because even while just having this single window open, Task manager is saying I am using 5.1/9.1 GB of my Committed memory. Not sure what exactly that means, but it also says  4.1 GB of my ram right now and it says I only have 3.7 GB left... and all I'm doing is this post! So should my first upgrade be to a cheaper upgrade of adding 4GB of ram? If yes, any tips on specific brands/types would be greatly appreciated.I'm not looking to invest much, but I want to add something to my laptop as a Christmas present to myself! haha 

Well, all you can really change in laptops are HDDs (SATA SSD or PCI-e M.2), the RAM, and wireless card (if you want something better than stock)

I'd max out the allotted RAM. Rather 16GB or 32GB, depends on the laptop type.