F9: Iridium NEXT #7 (mission)


 Share

Recommended Posts

This launch will bring the number of operational Iridium NEXT satellites to 65 (of 81; 66 active, 9 orbital spares and 6 ground spares)

 

Date: July 20, 2018
Time: 0512 PDT, 0812 EDT, 1212 UTC
Pad: Vandenberg AFB SLC-4E
Core: B1048.1 (Block 5)
Recovery: ASDS Just Read the Instructions 
Coordinates: 32°29'7" N, 120°3'53" W

 

Payload: 10 Iridium NEXT commsats
Payload mass: 8,600 kg + 1,000kg dispenser
Target orbit: 625km x 86.66°
Final orbit: 778km x 86.4° (Plane 5 of 6)

 

 

ASDS JRtI landing zone

IridiumNEXT-7_LZ.thumb.jpg.5c5ed8ff8bf011645a1cc93fa6fd5b97.jpg

 

  • Like 1
  • Thanks 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 3 weeks later...

Being in southern Cali I am so looking forward to this. My daughter is as well. We have seen a few launches go up, and then crash back into the ocean, but watching them attempt a landing, this is going to be special.

 

As always thanks for the updates/info DocM (and others too!) you guys really take some hard to grasp concepts and make them understandable even to my 16-year-old daughter who is just starting to grasp the basics of this, even after all these years of being super interested in space/rockets.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Current weather report is clear skies at the moment at VAFB via Chris Gebhart from NasaSpaceflight.com. :punk:

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Good landing of the S1, good orbit insertion for the S2. See ya at T-50 (ish) minutes. JRTI's lights are out.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I believe, however, the droneship got a little annoyed with the landing ... the lights went out in Georgia ...

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Goodie, we've got a twofer! I have something else to watch after this. Thanks for reminding me!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

This topic is now closed to further replies.
 Share

  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.