WiFi speeds- basic question

While I am technical, I am a programmer, not a networking guy. I have a basic level of understanding, but there are something I don't know, so I am hoping to get clarification here.

My internet comes in at 110 Mbps. But if I use my router, I am lucky to get 35MBps and sometimes it slows to the point of being useless. I have a Belkin AC300 and a Netgear AC1200 piggy backed on it (the Netgear has a broken DHCP server and will not wotk with my wife's work laptop.

The fin tech support people with Spectrum tell me that 30-40 over WiFi is normal and to be expected. My stepson is going nuts because his PS4 is getting choked by this slow speed.

Is it correct that on 110 out of the modem, I won't see any better than 40 on my devices?

This is WiFi, you will never get above 40, is true.

I thought the PS4 was wired only?

If you are using alot of devices on that one router, you are choking your internet speed.

"Belkin AC300 and a Netgear AC1200 piggy backed on it"

What you mean by that?

If your router has a bad DHCP server, I would get that replaced asap. Or rather, use static IP's.

12 minutes ago, Mindovermaster said:

If you are using alot of devices on that one router, you are choking your internet speed.

What you mean by that?

If your router has a bad DHCP server, I would get that replaced asap. Or rather, use static IP's.

I am positive the PS4 has wireless. Looking at one right now. But like MoM said, wireless is poor for gaming. I think OP must have meant they are daisy-chained.

19 minutes ago, Mindovermaster said:

What you mean by that?

I get 200 up and down out of my wireless and it isn’t the speediest. Never getting above 40 is incorrect. It depends on the equipment. 

5 hours ago, SoCalRox said:

While I am technical, I am a programmer, not a networking guy. I have a basic level of understanding, but there are something I don't know, so I am hoping to get clarification here.