NAg screen


Recommended Posts

Bruinator

Is there a way to stop seeing the message "do you want this app to make changes to your device". If yes, how plz? This is for win 10 pro.

 

TIA

Link to post
Share on other sites
NJ Louch

Are you talking about UAT?

Link to post
Share on other sites
Bruinator

Not sure what that is but i will give it a try.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Bruinator

Is it the same as UAC and scroll down to never?

Link to post
Share on other sites
Nick H.

Yeah, Human.Online was referring to the UAC (User Account Control).

 

You can find the steps to disable the UAC here: https://articulate.com/support/article/how-to-turn-user-account-control-on-or-off-in-windows-10

 

EDIT: I wouldn't do this, the UAC is there to help protect you against software making changes to your system and it isn't really a hassle to select "allow" when prompted. But to each their own.

Link to post
Share on other sites
+Biscuits Brown

Bruinator,  why not post a screen shot of what you are seeing for us to be sure of what you as asking for.

Link to post
Share on other sites
fusi0n

Please don't do this. This is one of the core security components of your operating system. It's the one thing that actually made Vista good. Even if you call yourself a "poweruser" and won't download viruses, this a good defense for 0-Day malware that you might encounter from the web.. Even if it's a website you "trust" but you don't know if they've been hacked or their adservers have been hacked.. Your friend sends you a link and you click on it.. Disabling a core part of your security stack is a horrible idea.  

  • Like 3
  • Thanks 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
George P

The UAC prompt has been around since Vista, I think the steps to turn it off are the same in 10 as they were in Vista but I could be wrong.  I wouldn't turn it off, but heck, if the apps you use are written the right way then it shouldn't popup at all.   I only have 3-4 apps I know that bring it up each time I open them but that's expected because of the types of apps they are.    I'd say that the majority of apps should never bring it up though.

  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
DevTech
5 hours ago, Bruinator said:

Is it the same as UAC and scroll down to never?

This turns OFF the fundamental security of your computer and will NOT be recommended by any responsible expert in this forum or any forum I have seen.

 

There are other ways besides this "Sledgehammer" approach to "dial down" security  that might work for you. Windows has a million settings to custom tailor it to you needs.

 

- you could turn off Secure Desktop so the pop up is less intrusive

- if it is programs you download there is a setting to stop the security pop up if the install does not need elevation.

- and many more options

 

Describe what is irritating you exactly and what programs you are running to get the pop up.

 

  • Like 2
Link to post
Share on other sites
Vince800

Definitely leave this on. In fact I go one step further and make it require a password for every use. It just makes it that little more secure.

  • Like 2
Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
  • Recently Browsing   0 members

    No registered users viewing this page.