New build!!

New home server build! Low power, whisper quiet and powered on 24/7. :punk::jump:

AMD Athlon 200GE based system, 8GB DDR4 RAM, 60GB SSD, 1.65TB HDD storage (1TB + 650GB), Corsair 450W power supply. Onboard LAN plus additional TP-Link NIC, both Realtek chipsets.

Running Windows 10 Pro. Didn't want Linux as a base as I'm just a beginner in Linux. Windows, I know. If anything goes wrong, I can deal with it easily.

Hyper-V configured with 3 VM's as of now - OPNsense for my router, OpenMediaVault for file access and sharing across network and Ubuntu Server. Still figuring out what to run on Ubuntu. Might start with migrating Pi-hole over to this VM from my RPi so that I can use that Pi for something else. Also serving music to my RPi based music player in the living room and any other device via Samba shares. I had initially planned to also host my personal website from home, but after reading about the risks (DDoS especially) I've decided not to and continue paying for professional hosting.

Shout out to @BudMan through whom I got to know about pfSense. Otherwise I would have never known that it was even possible to basically make your own router! I finally went with OPNsense though (fork of pfSense) as I simply love the GUI. Mouth opened and fell to the floor looking at the feature set of these router operating systems! Correctly configured, they can seriously blow the pants off any commercially available home router!

In all my research on the router OS I did see practically everyone recommending Intel network cards as they work very well with FreeBSD (the base OS of pfSense and OPNsense). But so far, I have had zero issues with my Realtek based NIC's. I've yet to stress test the network though, so will then see how these NIC's fare compared to Intel. But currently, only me and my wife are pushing gig on the LAN, other family members usage is very low.